We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food in a wonderful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) to your Saves list
The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn)
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Arkengarthdale, Arkengarthdale DL11 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a wonderful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner midweek in the CB Inn having worked up a good appetite walking the surrounding hills which are amongst the most beautiful of the dales. Wild garlic is just coming into season and it was a real pleasure to have this in the risotto starter. Equally local was the main course of guinea fowl - we had walked passed these birds earlier in the day - although possible not the one I was eating that evening. Portions were judged right - not so much that you had no appetite for 3 courses. Not everything on their well considered menu could be quite so local but it was a good range of choices. Service when we were there was swift and professional and I would certainly be back to see if they can keep up this standard of food and perhaps to try their rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    57
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
133
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Room lovely (but no view); pleasant bar/dining area; fine on Sunday evening but Saturday clearly far too busy for staff to cope with (service incredibly slow and food not cooked properly). Given the price of our room+food, not good value at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieRichmond, General Manager at The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry you found service to be slow on your visit, I believe you may have visited on the May Day bank holiday which turned out to be an extremely busy weekend due to the nice weather. This may have stretched our team to capacity and although there may have been a delay with food we hope you found the food to our high standards despite of this.

Most of our rooms have lovely views there is one room that does have a restricted view due to the structure of the building, but our new online booking system gives you the chance to look at the rooms before you buy, our dinner,bed and breakfast package offers the best value for money and If you ever wish to return I can recommend Room 18 or Room 11 for fantastic views.

Kind regards,
Deborah Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were taking a drive up past Tan Hill and came across The Cb Inn in the middle of nowhere. We decided to stop and have lunch there and what a surprise. The place is enormous, has 16 rooms, b&b, function rooms, fab pub and the food is absolutely awesome. So glad we drove on and came across it, we will be back.

Room Tip: We didnt stay there as we live close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to the CB Inn recently for a family meal and despite ordering food from the children's menu, the chips came pre salted! Although the initial service was good, the wait for food was such that we had to feed our 2 year old 'emergency' supplies, despite the place not being busy.
Surely in an age where people are watching their salt intake for a number of medical reasons, and that salt intake should be watched in young children, having per salted chips is not on.
I recommend that if you are in the area that you visit their sister pub the Punch Bowl at Low Row where we have found the food much better on frequent visits

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieRichmond, General Manager at The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do put a little salt on the chips to enhance the flavour, however if asked we can do them unsalted for any future visits. All our food is cooked to order so please appreciate that some time is needed to cook the food to our standards.

Kind regards
Deborah Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After doing a 6 mile walk called in for a well earned beer . Excellent pint (s) of black sheep golden .top quality service .looked at menu will be back to eat .excellent location bar area spotless log fire burning . Exellent car park . Free wifi .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fabulous - warm and friendly pub serving excellent local produce, with a reasonably priced and interesting wine list. Rooms are extremely comfortable. Multiple walks from the door. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My nephew and his partner are regular visitors to the CB Inn and arranged it for my wife and I and his sister (my neice) and partner to stay for one night and dinner. The weather was not good when we set off on the 100 mile journey to the inn and by the time we arrived it was thick snow, although to be fair the roads were well cleared and gritted.
My nephew chose well for our family meet up. It is a lovely place, not in the least bit pseudo, with low beams and a roaring fire. Our room (number 19) was one of the newer additions and was well appointed, lovely and warm with a super ensuite bathroom. Our room was dual aspect with views over the snow covered landscape over the valley, with a magnificent hunting lodge in the distance. It must be stunning whatever the season.
We had a fantastic meal, great local ingredients, well cooked and well presented. The dining room had a couple of side rooms and we were in one of them, but we were never neglected by the staff or felt out of it.
The bill was split three ways and we later found out they had made a mistake and significanlty undercharged us, but we had no qualms about paying the undercharge.
We certainly will be going again, when we hope to explore the lovely village of nearby Reeth and some of the valley and surrounding countryside. Anyone running a B&B or Inn with rooms should visit The CB Inn, it is a template of how to run such a place

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part for a double bed and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn)

Address: Arkengarthdale, Arkengarthdale DL11 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Arkengarthdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arkengarthdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18Th Century Inn, located in remote and beautiful Arkengarthdale in the North Yorkshire Dales national Park. Offering 19 en suite individually decorated bedrooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV, hairdryers, towels & telephones.We offer outstanding fresh, locally sourced seasonal food, cooked on the premises to the highest standard by our team of chefs. Awarded an AA Rosette in 2013. Antique pine furnish the bar & restaurant, creating a relaxed, warm & friendly environment in which to eat, drink & relax.Now available for civil ceremonies and wedding receptions for up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cb Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) Hotel Arkengarthdale
The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) Arkengarthdale, North Yorkshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The CB Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.