We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornlee Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cornlee Guest House to your Saves list
Cornlee Guest House
Cornlee, Aysgarth DL8 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Chatham UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This guest house was well furnished with modern, clean and very comfortable bedrooms. There was a lot of attention to detail that many places do not give.The village itself too is very pretty.
The breakfast was excellent; we were offered tea and cake too when we arrived which was very nice.There is an excellent pub across the road which serves food of a high quality but it does get busy so best to book. Jason at Cornlee will book you a table.
Well located for the area in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
64
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute descision to visit The Dales, we booked Cornlee the night before our stay. It's location is perfect for exploring the Dales, we were easily able to visit all the local villages and market towns. After an afternoon of visiting Hawes and the cheese factory,we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome, and shown to a lovely room, there was ample tea and coffee supplies, toiletries, sewing kit and even earplugs our every need concidered!! We were also informed of all the great places to eat in the area.
The pub across the road came highly recommended, later that evening after a few pints of the local brew and a chat with the locals, we were ready for our beds. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in! The following day our breakfast was delicious! A lovely choice! We both decided to have the full Dales breakfast which set us up perfectly for another day of exploring! Can't wait to reurn again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent B&B!! Really enjoyed our stay at the Cornlee. Was made to feel so welcome on arrival, with a lovely cup of tea and delicious homemade cake. Our room was very comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. Our only regret is that it was only for one night. Jason and Karen are so lovely and were kind enough to get us booked into the George and Dragon for our evening meal, which was really very good. Breakfast was a delight and set us up for the day. Anyone planning a stay in or around Aysgarth should stay at the Cornlee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thanks to Jason and Karen for looking after us, and for not throwing out my crazy children who did their best to cause utter chaos :) We had great rooms, really comfortable beds, and a fantastic breakfast. We only stayed one night, and arrived quite late in the day, but were very pleased that J&K let us use the breakfast room to eat our chips and that they saved my Mam with as many sugars as she needed for her tea! Would love to come back and spend more time here.....but next time on my own!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the moment the door was opened we where made very welcome. Staying in a lovely room with everything we needed, even cake and tea when we arrived. Jason made bookings for us to eat out on the two nights we stayed. Both jason and karen were very knowledgeable on the local area and attractions. The breakfasts where excellent with a good choice to cater for everyone. We would definitely be staying again and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We attended a christening in the local area recently and decided to stay over afterwards. It was a last minute booking so didnt have a great deal of time to look around, but we wernt disappointed! From the moment we were met at the door we were looked after, upon arrival the owners welcomed us with a pot of tea and two beautiful slices of homemade cake. We were then taken to our first floor room. Decorated and furnished to a very high standard, and spotless! The owners had a vast amount of knowledge of the local area and were more than happy to recommend areas to visit and places to eat. We visited Hawes and the famous aysgarth falls which are only a short walk ( 800 yds ) from the guest house. The selection of breakfast available the following morning was exceptional, cereals, yoghurts, fruit. Tea, coffee, juice and a delicious full cooked breakfast. We didnt need lunch that day!! Overall a lovely place that we would both highly recommend and will no doubt stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Cornlee for the first and last nights of our walk on the Herriot Way (most handy, the walk starts and ends at the back of this B & B!) Very clean, comfortable and with nice facilities, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, loved the teacakes, and the welcoming tea and cake on arrival were also much appreciated. It has the added advantage of being near the George and Dragon, which provided us with probably the best evening meals of the week... Would recommend highly (and indeed have already done so to several friends)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornlee Guest House

Address: Cornlee, Aysgarth DL8 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxed and friendly country retreat, somewhere you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day exploring the Yorkshire Dales, then Cornlee, a charming Victorian property in Aysgarth is the B&B for you. Enjoy afternoon home-made cake with a pot of tea or cafetiere of coffee on arrival. Relax in one of our three rooms all tastefully decorated to a high standard. Room 1 is a spacious double en-suite room with views across the village green; Room 2 is a delightful sunny double en-suite room with south facing aspect; Room 3 a twin-bedded room that overlooks our courtyard garden and has a separate private bathroom and WC. In the morning our delicious freshly cooked breakfast with high quality locally sourced products will prepare you for the day ahead. Cornlee offers high quality bed & breakfast accommodation for those seeking an active holiday, relaxing break or romantic weekend away. Positioned in a prime location makes exploring the Yorkshire Dales National Park and surrounding area easy and enjoyable. With breathtaking views in all directions, places of interest to visit and activities such as walking, cycling, horse riding and shooting means there is something for everyone. Aysgarth is located in the heart of Wensleydale and is the starting point of many walks, including the popular James Herriot Way, a 52-mile circular walk taking in the sights and scenery featured in the books of James Herriot. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. Free car parking is available around the village green. Pack lunches are also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cornlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornlee Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.