We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Aysgarth, Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for over a weekend in January 2014 and were thoroughly impressed. Fantastic location, just walking distance to Aysgarth Falls and lovely setting. Stayed here to go to my friends 40th birthday party which was next door at the Aysgarth Falls Hotel, another lovely place that serves fantastic food and drink and worth a visit. We arrived at the B & B after a long walk in the dales and the owner Steph invited us into the 'snug' (where i plonked myself on the chase longe) for fresh coffee / tea and homemade cake!!! Delicious and just what we needed before heading out to the party! We found the place to be spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Bedrooms were lovely, quite cosey and with en suite bathroom. Home cooked breakfast was excellent....really fresh and lots of fruits / cereals to choose from before even tucking into the full english. We were overall very impressed and found the owners to be really friendly and personable. Don't normally write reviews but felt that we had to as had such a lovely time here. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Wow. Thanks for the wonderful review. Yes, it can be difficult to tear yourself away from that chaise longue sometimes and were glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
143
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay at the Wendsleydale Farmhouse. We were greeted with coffee and gorgeous home-made cake. The owners kindly made dinner reservations for us for both nights at two decent pub/restaurants. And finally an excellent breakfast with locally sourced ingredients.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our B&B. We really appreciate it nd hope we might welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having just spent two days at this B&B I can highly recommend it.The owners Steph & Paul couldn't have been more welcoming providing tea and home baking on arrival, such a beautiful place to stay with stunning views from the bedroom window and the well decorated rooms and comfortable beds you couldn't ask for more,will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Arrived to a fantastic warm welcome by Steph. Once taken to our rooms we settled down in the snug for a much welcomed hot drink and homemade cake. At which point Steph informed us of all the local amenities which was most useful. Rooms outstanding and cleanliness second to none. Breakfast superb with a wide variety from Cerials to a full English. Nothing was too much trouble. An excellent location with walks a plenty. Good pub next door. An excellent B & B if your visiting the Yorkshire Dales. You can proud of yourselves Steph and Paul. We will return in the summer.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A great place to stay, fabulous room, high quality of food and the cleanliness was outstanding. Brilliant location in the beautiful Wensleydale. Thank you Paul and Steph for a great weekend!
paul and Steph emailed us prior to our visit and kindly offered to book us into the two local restaurants nearby. Such personal touches are the ideal thing.

Kim & Chris

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here last Wednesday as we where working here. Spotlesley clean, with a breakfast that would put a 5 star to shame. free Wi Fi, a pub / restaurent next door, and two very genuine people in Paul & Steph who run the guest house. Hoping to get over for a mountain bike holiday with my young son next year so will certainley be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B, a mix of modern and traditional providing extremely clean and comfortable accommodation in this beautiful part of Yorkshire. Paul and Stephanie were a fountain of knowledge and their friendliness added to the wonderful experience we had in Wensleydale. We chose a Kingsize bedded room with a nice view to the back of the property, it was spotlessly clean and was decorated to a high standard with a very comfortable feature bed. In the morning we both looked forward to the "full works" which was delicious, they obviously sourced their food very carefully. We shall be back in the Autumn next year and we will certainly re-book with Paul and Stephanie again, all in all a great break at a very fair price for the quality you get!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Aysgarth, Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wensleydale Farmhouse is a delightful family-run and recently refurbished guest house at the beautiful and famous Aysgarth Falls, in the heart of Wensleydale.Originally built in around 1880, the house is prominently positioned at the edge of Aysgarth village and enjoys fantastic views in every direction. The perfect location to explore Wensleydale and Yorkshire Dales National Park, the property is tastefully decorated and furnished with comfort and relaxation in mind.All rooms have en-suite facilities, iPod docks and LED televisions with Freeview HD. Our delicious breakfasts are freshly prepared with the highest quality locally sourced ingredients.A warm welcome, comfy beds, crisp white sheets and fluffy dressing gowns await you after your day in the Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.