We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Aysgarth, Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A fantastic location for a break. Travelling alone, I was made to feel so welcome by Steph and Paul. Probably the most friendly and warm welcome I've encountered when staying away, the pot of coffee and cake hit the spot after a long drive. The room was spotless and beautifully furnished, really comfy bed too. The breakfast was everything that previous reviews had said it would be, high quality, locally sourced food. Their recommendations were spot on for eating out in the village too. The scenery is stunning from the house, with walks from the doorstep, or beautiful drives through the Dales. I would recommend a stay here without hesitation and will undoubtedly return again.

Room Tip: Views from the rooms at rear of house are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you, Sue and thanks so much for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
143
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a wonderful place! So glad we found it. Stayed here for 1 night, and received a very warm welcome. It was such a lovely touch to receive tea and coffee on arrival with delicious homemade cake. Steph helped us make the most of our short stay, telling us about things to do in the local area, and options for places to eat. Our room (Lowden) was lovely with a view over the church, beautifully furnished and a wonderful comfortable bed and superb bedding.

Breakfast was amazing; we'd just stopped in a large 4 star hotel prior to this and the breakfast at Wensleydale Farmhouse was far superior. Local quality produce makes all the difference.

Wensleydale Farmhouse opens your eyes to how beautiful bed & breakfasts can be...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. We think it's a little piece of paradise but we're glad you did too. It's sometimes difficult to compete with the larger establishments but we try our best and are glad you enjoyed the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great b&b, ideally situated for a weekend exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Very relaxed and made to feel very welcome by the owner and her family, who were willing to offer advice on where to go/activities etc, nothing too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate to go back, absolute bargain for what you get .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review Craig and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The welcome was warm. I would without a doubt come back here.
Steph and Paul were so welcoming. Couldn't do enough for us.
The rooms are luxurious. The breakfast is the best I've ever had all locally sourced.
Fabulous and just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks very much for the fantastic review. So glad you had a good time and thanks for the compliment on the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Would have given a 5 but the room we stayed in was a bit on the small side as was the shower cubicle. However we only stayed for one night and there are king size rooms available. The owners could not be more welcoming when you arrive and treated us to home made cake and coffee. The house is spotless and charmingly decorated. It is in a great location with plenty to see within either walking distance for beautiful scenery, good food or a pint. It is also a great place to drive out from. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty to choose from. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us David. We're glad you had a good stay with us. Sorry that our larger rooms weren't available for your stay and that you felt a little cramped. Hopefully you'll come again and can try one of our larger rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and was made very welcome thought out our stay, Steph & Paul are perfect hosts and gave very good suggestions for places to visit and to eat.
Our room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean as was the breakfast room and snug. The breakfast was cooked to perfection by Paul..and served by Steph..We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to have you and we're very pleased with the 'perfect breakfast' comments. Hop we'll welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had this booked as a surprise, and we wasn't disappointed. When we arrived Steph, the hostess of the B&B was lovely and friendly and even gave us some Chocolate and Orange Brownie for our picnic. Since we didn't really know the area they made some great suggestions on where to go, what to do and where to eat. Overall extremely happy with the experience. Thank you Steph and Paul for a fantastic stay,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor-Steph, Owner at Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks very much for the great review. Pleased you enjoyed the Brownies and even had good weather for your picnic. Perhaps we'll see you again for an Anniversary??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Aysgarth, Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wensleydale Farmhouse is a delightful family-run and recently refurbished guest house at the beautiful and famous Aysgarth Falls, in the heart of Wensleydale.Originally built in around 1880, the house is prominently positioned at the edge of Aysgarth village and enjoys fantastic views in every direction. The perfect location to explore Wensleydale and Yorkshire Dales National Park, the property is tastefully decorated and furnished with comfort and relaxation in mind.All rooms have en-suite facilities, iPod docks and LED televisions with Freeview HD. Our delicious breakfasts are freshly prepared with the highest quality locally sourced ingredients.A warm welcome, comfy beds, crisp white sheets and fluffy dressing gowns await you after your day in the Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.