We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 4 hour drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George and Dragon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The George and Dragon Inn to your Saves list
The George and Dragon Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth DL8 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Tetbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the 4 hour drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We traveled from Gloucestershire and stayed down the road from Aysgarth - we came across this pub for dinner on our first night and were extremely impressed! As soon as you walk in the pub has a lovely atmosphere, the staff and locals were all very friendly too.
The food was absolutely delicious, the whole family said it is the best meal they have eaten (men has the steaks and women had lamb) and all for a very reasonable price. Needless to say we went back a few days later and had food and drinks and once again the food was divine!!
Next time we are in Yorkshire we will be coming out of our way to pay a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We planned this trip via voucher and have never done it before. We arrived to find a beautiful old building with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The character of the building was enhanced by lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely, with a magnificent bathroom. The bar was tiny but so cosy we loved it. The restaurant was out of this world. The food was stunning and we would happily go back again and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are to the same standard, so no need to worry. Just go and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a KGB voucher for two nights b and b. The George and Dragon is a wonderful 'olde worlde' pub and restaurant at Aysgarth - full of character - low ceilings and a rabbit warren of rooms. Rooms were warm and clean with modern bathrooms and the expected toiletries and coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast was lovely with fruit, yoghurts, cereals, and full english or continental. However, the real highlights were the wonderful dinners. The restaurant is very popular with locals and people staying nearby - a real cut above ordinary pub food - with a superb choice of wines. We shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room was at the very end of a corridor - but it was lovely and quiet - number 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent stay at yhe George And Dragon Inn in Aysgarth. Friendly atmosphere, rooms clean and well presented. Food of the highest order and reasonably priced, similar standard in a major town or city would cost three or four times the rate. Would recommened for a short stay as the Inn is quite central for the North Dales area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as a last minute break to celebrate our anniversary. The Hotel is well situated for exploring the Dales. If we were to stay again we would ask for a room at the back as our room overlooked the busy road and heavy goods lorries passed frequently from very early morning. We ate both nights in the resturant as there is no where else within walking distance glad we did as both nights food was fantastic. We decided not to have starters but on the first night shared cheese and biscuits whilst choice was small we enjoyed on the second night we again opted to miss starters but went for dessert fantastic. Main courses on both nights we could not fault my hubby had lamb he said was better than lamb he had on recent trip to NZ I had fish on both nights again superb. The bar area is small but we found everyone talked to each other very relaxing atmosphere. Would have no hesitation in staying again as we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Family dropped in for a meal. Very welcome, a proper pint pulled in the traditional way and food cooked with a passion for excellence. Good variety too, and great atmosphere.trip advisor makes me do 200 characters. Just try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time visitors to this hotel,great food,extremely good portiions and well presented. Room was of a good size and spolessly clean. Staff very friendly as were the locals and other visitors.Will book again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George and Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon Inn

Address: A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth DL8 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The George and Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Aysgarth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George and Dragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.