We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid week break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George and Dragon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The George and Dragon Inn to your Saves list
The George and Dragon Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth DL8 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“mid week break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A beautiful place to stay, central for walking from the door or as a touring base for the dales and beyond, the food is first class and cooked to order, it has a homely feel about and the service was excellent. Will certainy be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    60
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
111
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had one night here, cannot fault anything at all. Bar lovely and cosey, . Room very nice, spotless and just lovley with the beams etc and nice comfy bed. Wonderful bathroom too. Think it was room 4.

Meal on the evening was absolutely delicious and service excellent. Breakfast again very good. A most enjoyable night and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What an absolutely fabulous place this is , we have promised to return later in the summer and we definetely will. we stayed for 2 nights 26/27feb on a living social deal and was allocated room 6 , which we found immaculetely clean and very nicely furnished . very friendly staff , nothing was too much trouble for them, in fact on arriving home we realised we had left our walking boots in the entrance porch , so they have very kindly said they will post them on to us. we spent 2 very enjoyable evenings in the bar, where we found the food, drinks and the company excellent. we had our dog , molly the staffy with us who was very happy to lay in front of the roaring fire after her long walks during the day ! well done the george and dragon, 10 out of 10! neil ,mary and molly, york.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed for one night we was allocated room 7 which overlooked the car park,the room was on the small side but spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy.we dined in the inn and the food was excellent with plenty of draught beers to choose from,the owners were friendly,but the best attribute is the location with the aysgarth falls within 15mins walking distance and about 3 miles to Bolton castle,will definitely be going back later in the year.

Room Tip: room 7 which stayed in was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We too stayed using a Living Social deal and we wondered if that was why we were given room 5!?

If you haven't read the previous reviews that mention room 5, it is the room that seems to be above the kitchen fan. On the evening of our stay the fan was switched on at 6.30pm (we assumed that is when the kitchen started cooking the evening meals).

When the fan is switched on the whole room shakes and the noise is quite unpleasant. I was sat on the bed and you could feel it vibrating. We left the room shortly after the fan had started up and it was switched off by the time we got back later that evening, so fortunately it wasn't too disruptive. We were expecting it to be switched back on in the morning for breakfasts but fortunately it wasn't.

This on its own wouldn't have resulted in me giving our stay a poor rating. The other contributing factors to our poor rating are

* the room was quite dusty, for example the bed side lamp shades were covered in a layer of dust
* we found the bed uncomfortable (we found it too hard but I appreciate everyone is perhaps looking for something different from a mattress) and it was small, it was only a double. I can never quite understand why hotels and b&bs put double beds in their rooms when there is plenty of room for a king size or bigger bed?
* finally we also found the landlord and landlady to be a little 'frosty' (this is the best word I can use to describe it). To begin with we wondered if it was personal to us but when I observed them interacting with other people I could see they took a similar tone and approach. I don't think it was anything personal but in hosts I would want some to be dealing with someone who comes across a little warmer on meeting you and takes the trouble to exchange some pleasantries.

All in all we could see the inn appears to be a successful business and the restaurant obviously gets plenty of repeat trade but I can't say we would ever want to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Thurs/Fri) on a Living Social Deal - £99. We were greeted on arrival by the landlord & landlady's daughter who was efficient, smiley and friendly.The room we were allocated was room 6 overlooking the fields. Nicely furnished & spotlessly clean with a well appointed ensuite.

There is a welcoming open fire in the bar which is the hub of the 'Inn'. Our deal included B & B for 2 nights inclusive of evening meal on 1 night. The food is unbelievable, very well presented and very tasty and the choice at breakfast is wonderful. Who can refuse a freshly cooked breakfast? We certainly couldn't, but if that's not for you then there are other choices, ie cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast etc This Inn provides food as you would get in a 5* hotel.

There is a large carpark and with great food, lovely rooms and views from the Inn across the rolling countryside and stone walls, the George & Dragon makes this a great choice of accommodation for anyone wanting to enjoy the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with friends on the 2 night Living Social Deal. Our room was clean and had all the facilities you would need. Breakfast was made to order and the ingrediants used were fresh and tasty. The dinner on the first night ( which was included in the deal) was really good and well presented so we ate there the 2nd night and was not disappointed.
The pub is family run and they were all very helpful and friendly.
The walk down to Aysgarth Falls was beautiful and Collette the landlady let us borrow a map to make sure we did not get lost (approx 5 miles).
Would highly recommend the George and Dragon .

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be individual so each would have offered a different feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George and Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon Inn

Address: A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth DL8 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The George and Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Aysgarth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George and Dragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.