We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aysgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room
Save
You added Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street, Aysgarth DL8 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The best B&B we have stayed in. The free scones and drinks on arrival were a nice touch and set the tone for our stay. The owners Steve and Sandra were very friendly hosts and everything about the place was good - clean, comfortable, good location and excellent food - both the breakfast and evening meals. We'd highly recommend Yoredale House and Aysgarth in general and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Ideal location situated in the center of the village, ample parking with a great local pub 2 minutes walk away.

Large rooms with a really comformtable bed, and modern bathroom with a 2 person shower. dvd combi tv with a good selection on dvds to watch which were freely availble along with a number od games and books. Unfortunatley we did not have an evening meal, but the breakfast was excellent. Sandra and Steve are very welcoming and warm and invite you into what feels more like a home. Below the bedrooms is a delightful tea shop.

Great value for money, great service, great food,

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Whernside room at Yoredale House on 10th December on our road trip up to Scotland, and the welcoming hosts Steve and Sandra made this a totally delightful experience. Make no mistake, this is no ordinary bed and breakfast; the room was large and beautifully furnished with a huge comfortable bed and a modern en-suite with a real man-sized shower cubicle. There were the usual facilities for making tea and coffee, and the room featured a combined TV and DVD player with a good variety of DVDs freely available to watch too, and everything had an air of quality and great attention to detail. I personally appreciate things like free samples of shower gel and shampoo, fluffy thick towels, heavyweight curtains, a comfortable chair, homely soft furnishings, etc., to give a feeling of being in a relaxed atmosphere. But perhaps the best thing about Yoredale is the food. Sandra is an excellent cook and the dinner and breakfast in the pretty tearooms at the front was simply fantastic. The meals are prepared from a lot of local produce and as with the rooms it was provided with great attention to detail; even the bread rolls and the morning toast was from (delicious) home-baked bread. The quality of the cuisine cannot be faulted and would not be out of place in a 5-star hotel. There are also a lot of locally produced jams, preserves and chutneys, postcards, and other souvenirs for sale.
The value is quite amazing too, all this for £60 per night and £28 for a mouth-watering dinner for two including wine. I would recommend this bed and breakfast without reservation wherever it was, except this is also in one of the loveliest parts of the Dales and would make a perfect base for exploring this most beautiful of locations. The one point I would make is that being in an older Yorkshire house, the stairs are very steep and may not suit someone with any sort of disability, but this is otherwise one of the best B & Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Liked — The warmth of the hospitality and the quality of the cooking
  • Disliked — Slightly cold early in the morning, but otherwise nothing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Stayed for two nights at Yoredale House and had a lovely time. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms and en suite were very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent.

Yoredale House is situated over Kitty's Tea Rooms (which is owned by the same people). It is a wonderful base for walking the Dales, for Aysgarth Falls (which are within walking distance) and for the beautiful villages of Askrigg, West Burton and Bolton Castle.

Highly recommended and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We have stayed at Yoredale House twice already and are going to be booking in again in the next couple of weeks. We cannot recommend Yoredale highly enough, the standard of the rooms, the service and the breakfast are all first class and the welcome is warm and inviting.The pretty village of Aysgarth is set in a lovely part of the Yorkshire Dales and is well placed to use as a base for visting the surrounding areas.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2004

Delightful little B & B over a lovely clean tea rooms.
The whole place is newly renovated and the rooms are of a very high standard for a B & B. Nice little extras including cold water machine and as much tea and coffee as you require.
Excellent cooked English breakfast served in Kitty's tea room downstairs.
Very friendly owners who made us feel so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room

Address: Main Street, Aysgarth DL8 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Hotel Class:4 star — Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoredale House Guesthouse and Hamilton's Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.