We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky luxury retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aysgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stow House
Save
You added Stow House to your Saves list
Stow House | Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Funky luxury retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just back from a very lovely stay with Sarah and Phil. As one would expect from two ex-advertising creatives the house has been carefully and beautifully decorated. Each room is different, and the whole feel of the place is closer to boutique hotel than guest house.

The rooms are comfortable, stylish and filled with beautiful things. For example ours had an exquisite antique musical box and rather lovely art on the walls. Room fixtures, bathrooms and so on are top notch and reflect the care that's obviously gone into the whole house.

Sarah and Phil are fine hosts. Sarah tends to be front of house, serving up some rather punchy cocktails in the bar. She's also great company. Meanwhile Phil delivers a fine breakfast at a suitably lazy hour.

The falls at the rear of the property are rather beautiful, as is the church and surrounding grounds. The pub is 2 minutes walk and is a decent place to spend an evening.

We spent the drive home discussing what we'd do when we came back...

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the gorgeously refurbished Stow House last weekend and had a brilliant time. The rooms are luxurious with breathtaking views. Sarah and Phil made us feel very welcome and the cocktail hour is not to be missed, I can't wait to go back for another negroni!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Stow House for a birthday treat - and what a treat it was. Recently refurbished and under new management everything was perfect. The beautiful room, the friendly atmosphere, the magnificent all round views, the hearty breakfast and the very warm welcome from owner Sarah all combined to make my stay a perfect 10.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If your looking for a stylish B&B in North Yorkshire, then this is a place not to miss. It's recent sympathetic refurb by Phil and Sarah emphasises their eclectic taste. The bedrooms are all very spacious with stunning views from every window. Our stay was very comfortable in luxurious surroundings and the breakfast was second to none. Phil and Sarah were very accommodating and offered us, (dogs included), a very warm welcome. The fine walks along the riverside, taking in all three falls are only minutes away as is the pub even though Sarah provided us with a cocktail or two from their own 'honesty' bar.
Overall we were very impressed and have already booked to visit again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stow House is a fantastic venue , considerately renovated with individual room designs. Amazing rooms and spectacular views. We received a very warm welcome from the proprietors. Great location well worth a visit

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I couldn't had wished for a better way to spend time with my nearest and dearest. Perfect birthday treat surprise. Very friendly welcome and all rooms comfortable with personal touch you find in a home that's been cared for. Loved the enthusiasm that has gone into greating this very memorable place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Stow House last year just before Sarah and Phil planned their refurbishment of the newly purchased property. We spent this weekend there which was wonderfully relaxing. Their hard work and designs have paid off in retaining the character of Stow House but combining it with excellence and good taste.The views from all the bedrooms are stunning especially at this time of year with the Spring lambs gambolling across the dales; the decor and design of the rooms make for a chance to chill out after a long walk in the fresh air. The breakfast room is bright and airy looking over the fields with a variety of bird life to ponder over your truly delicious choice of food. Well done to S & P, we will be back soon!!! xxx

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views and are beautifully designed with comfort and style. Just book and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Owner at Stow House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We loved having you to stay at the revamped Stow House and we're delighted you like it. Hope to see you again soon - and thank you for our moving back in present!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow House

Address: Stow House | Leyburn, Aysgarth DL8 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow House is a boutique bed and breakfast set in the heart of Wensleydale, just minutes away from Aysgarth Falls. With seven luxurious en-suite rooms and great views, this is the perfect place for walkers, wildlife lovers or just people looking for a relaxing break in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Once you've finished exploring the local area, we have a large sitting room with a woodburner, a cosy snug and an honesty bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.