We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Game Cock Inn

The Game Cock Inn
The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA2 8BN, England
01524251226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 restaurants in Austwick
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great food in a lovely picturesque village; food was beautifully presented, high quality and fresh - though the game cock pie was slightly salty. Service was brilliant. This place has now been added to our favourites :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    178
    61
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is probably only my second Trip advisor review but I felt I must give credit where it is due.

After eating at the Game Cock a couple of times during the last six months, both in the evening and at lunch time with a friend, I returned with my family on a busy Saturday evening, we arrived at around 7pm without a reservation and it was very busy; we were very fortunate to pick up a cancelled table. The staff were a credit to the pub - they appeared naturally efficient, polite and despite being very busy appeared unflustered!

We were seated quickly and staff served drinks whilst we chose from the menu. There was so much to choose including an extensive specials board.

We skipped starters and chose main courses, they do also offer smaller main courses for those with a smaller appetite or older children.

My husbands Sirloin steak (£14.95) was beautifully presented and exceptional quality...he even ate the mushrooms which he normally wouldn't eat - were they cooked alongside the steak? He said these and the onion rings were really tasty. I had lamb shank (£14.95) which really did just fall off the bone. My teenage son had fish and chips - a large portion but he managed to eat it - beautifully presented with the chips in a wax type newspaper on a wire frame! My young daughter had a most delicious pizza. They also offer take away pizzas.

Deserts saw us eating the highly recommended Crème Brule, a large crepe with ice cream(French chef)... not usually served on an evening service, but they obliged - thank you! ...you made my daughter very happy! , a raspberry Bavarois and my son chose a Malteser cheesecake, I forgot to ask if this contained nuts! it did so he couldn't eat it as he is mildly allergic to nuts, fortunately he was OK.

Service throughout was friendly and efficient - a real credit to the pub.

We live around 5 miles from the Game Cock and shall certainly return again - well done on serving a superbly presented meal with good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Award winning food with a French influence in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Sadly we came across this place on our last night in the Dales. The food was fabulous. We had house terrine and goats cheese parcel to start, lamb Henry and cassoulet for main and sticky toffee pudding and pear and almond tart to finish. Both of us had 2 alcoholic drinks and the bill was £60! A total bargain. Highly recommend this place for a decent meal, good sized portions and a great choice of wine. And the service was absolutely excellent despite the pub heaving with people on a Friday night. Glad we booked ahead and suggest if you want to visit you book ahead too as it is very popular and well deservedly too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Almoat like being in France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Game Cock is deservedly popular with walkers and beer enthusiasts alike but my wife and I stopped for a bite to eat and a glass of wine. We were certainly glad we did! The menus, while catering well for ‘British’ tastes, have a distinctly French leaning – no surprise given that the Chef and Sous-chefs are from that country.
We were utterly delighted with the House Terrine and the Smoked Duck Breast, both garnished imaginatively and with superb taste. A basket of bread and lovely French butters (Beurre des Charentes), some well-chosen leaves and other little accompaniments such as a tomato concasse and, with the duck, a morsel of fig and almond cake, completed our enjoyment.
We could easily imagine that the Canal du Midi ran past just outside. A real gem of a pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great pubs and atmosphere. Food is very good quality with a wide choice of menu. You have to book because it gets very busy even in mid week. Locals and tourist alike eat here so it must be good. Lovely village with a great bed and breakfast almost next door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Game Cock Inn also viewed

Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Game Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Game Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.