We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service needs improving, poor experience, never to return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Pink Pig Farm

The Pink Pig Farm
Holme Ln, Scunthorpe DN16 3RE, England
+44 1724 844466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Scunthorpe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A friendly Lincolnshire farm with an award winning farm shop, butchery, restaurant, playbarn & family farm park. Free-range, homemade, happiness.
BOTTESFORD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Customer service needs improving, poor experience, never to return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to give the pink pig a try based on the reviews, but was very dissapointed with the lack of customer support.
We decided to try the Sunday lunch as we live locally and everyone was extolling it's virtues. Sign outside says meals 12 to 4, we arrived @ 13.45 joined the queue and by the time the girl had dealt with people it was 13.55, the couple in front of us took a bit of time deciding on what to eat and when decided the girl went into the kitchen and chef declared they stop serving @ 14.00, so after a bit of arguing they departed saying they would never return. The girl then asked what we required, we replied Sunday lunch and reply was we have stopped serving @ 14.00 hrs. The time was 13.57. So pointed out we had been in the queue for 15 mins and could they not oblige, answer NO we stop serving at 14.00.
So I AM AFRAID DUE TO THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE THERE US AT LEAST 2 COUPLES WHO WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THE PINK PIG FOR A MEAL.
Usually I have found that most retaurants rather than turn customers away and potentially lose their trade will make the effort to serve people who have had the patience to wait in a queue.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Localfood007, Owner at The Pink Pig Farm, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am so sorry that you were disappointed. I have done some digging and although we serve all other meals until 3pm on a Sunday, we had in fact run out of the carvery. The lady at the till should have made this clear and I have spoken both with the member of staff and our head chef. Unfortunately (or fortunately) our carvery is very popular and we can run out as it's very tricky to assess exactly how many people will order it. I hope that you will see your way to returning one day - we really don't like to disappoint our customers. Best Wishes, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    68
    30
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lunch with parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is great if you have children. You can go around the farm and see the animals and feed them. There is a cafe. And a shop that sells eggs to cheese that comes from the farm. The cafe sells tea, coffee and cakes. But you can also get meals. Lunch times can get very busy. Very clean enviroment. Can wait a whike before your meal is brought to you. Very expensive. The shop also sels variety of gift items. Plus a free car park. Cater for wheelchairs. Give it a look as is good for children.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've visited the Pink Pig a few times during my stays (it's a must for travellers with younger children) but it's nothing fantastic - the animals are fun to look at but there aren't many and they don't do anything particularly fascinating.

The restaurant food is enjoyable, organic and freshly prepared onsite, but you'd probably have more fun (and a fuller belly) if you looked further afield.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Regular happy customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cafe meals very good (egg & chips overpriced), coffee always excellent, superb selection of sausages and other meat products.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we had a nice meal and all of the food was local produce it was good to see the animals are loved and well looked after

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pink Pig Farm also viewed

Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Pink Pig Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pink Pig Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.