We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little eaterie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botts Coffee Shop

Botts Coffee Shop
Lincoln Road | Crowders Garden Centre, Horncastle LN9 5LZ, England
01507 528610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 26 Restaurants in Horncastle
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of Crowders Garden Centre, our cafe is the perfect place to stop and refresh. Select from mouth watering freshly baked cakes and scones, freshly brewed barrista style coffees and teas, and a great menu of lunches and ligh bites. Choose from our bistro style tables, soft seating sofa area, or perhaps a sunny rest in our conservatory overlooking the Garden Centre. We pride ourselves on our home made, locally sourced food, relaxed friendly ambience, and our happy regulars! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little eaterie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A lovely cafe within the garden centre. It was busy when we arrived and the front of house staff did seem a little disorganised - no tea spoons - so two members of staff went behind the scenes to wash some whilst two chefs looked on....
Hot Chocolate was delicious and homemade cakes gorgeous.
Looking forward to trying the Redwood next door, next time

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast was just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was such a lovely morning today in Horncastle so I decided to take my neighbour to Botts for a cup of tea. When we arrived there was such a delicious aroma that we decided to have the early breakfast. This consists of:- egg,sausage,tomato,baked beans,2 rashers of lean back bacon, 2 slices of toast and butter, either white or brown plus tea or coffee. This is all for £4.99 each. When it arrived the plates were hot and the food cooked superbly. The staff are always friendly and helpful and willing to "go the extra mile" eg. taking your tray to your table if you are unable to do so. There is an added bonus that there is no washing up to do afterwards!!. You can also leave your car at the car wash and it will be ready for you when you want to depart., Thank you Botts staff for making it such a pleasure to come to Crowders. The area is clean and bright and airy and the toilets spotlessly clean. This all adds up to a good morning out, ending up with browsing through the garden centre and the gift shop.There are places outside that, in the warmer weather you can sit under parasoles and eat "al fresco".. A place not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, pity the overcharging left a bad taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dropped in for an afternoon snack, ordered coffee, tea and two smoked salmon paninis which were on the specials board. Service with a smile from the people behind the counter and the drinks & paninis were excellent with a generous filling of salmon.
We sat in the conservatory, which was warm and comfortable with plenty of space between the tables.
Checking the bill later it was obvious that while the bill detailed correctly what we had eaten and drunk, we'd been overcharged for the Paninis compared to the price on the specials board.
Pity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We're regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I think we know Botts as we vist several times a week. Coffee and cream in a mug is very good. A real strength is their baking, from simple scones and flapjack to quite adventurous cakes. A good range of light snacks to meals are always available and all very good. The ambience is pleasing with formal and informal seating(and of course my obsession clean toilets) Perhaps an indicator of success is a recent development, The Redwood Restaurant serving full meals both day and evenings.Only been twice but wuill certainly go again. A real opositive is the pleasant and helpful staff. Not a grumble but sometimes you have a wait to be served - victims of their own success.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Who'd have though it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My mother, who lives locally, hasn't been here for many years. We needed a quick, inexpensive meal, Botts delivered on both counts. Mother had twice baked baked potato, which was accompanied by a lovely fresh salad with a pleasant dressing. I had beef and ale pie, which had a generous portion of chunks of beef. The beef was tender and accompanied by a rich sauce, not the other way round as is often the case. Mother will be back soon. Sadly for me its a wait until I'm back in Lincolnshire.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botts Coffee Shop also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Botts Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botts Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.