We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Main Road | Belchford, Horncastle LN9 6LQ, England
(0)1507 533602‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Horncastle
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Country Pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We met friends for our annual Christmas meal at this country pub. We were not disappointed by the Christmas fayre. The Christmas set menu was a real treat with all the trimmings included. At a reasonable price. Shame the drinks are a bit expensive. Also it would be nice to add your own gravy. The staff were polite and attentive. The whole experience was good. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and historic pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

3 mile walk from the Petwood Hotel for the energetic or a 5 minute drive! Plenty more to see for the WW2 historians, including a ceiling signed by airmen (including a member of the royal family - go see it for yourself). Menu is extensive, food quality is superb, drinks range is good and the barman is good fun and very pleasant. What more could you ask for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely English Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The Bluebell is a Lovely traditional English pub. The staff a polite and helpful and do a lot to enhance you visit. The food is Brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pub with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Food is great for a pub as all home made. Service can be slow when busy, recently waited almost an hour!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I wouldn't return there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived there at the time of our reservation, but we had to wait about 50 minutes before being seated. We had had a long day, and we were quite hungry so we weren't happy about it - I understand if you don't have a reservation, but with a reservation this type of wait is not acceptable.
Once we were seated, the food was served very quickly (we had placed our order before we were given the table). But while one of the main courses was nice, the beef and Guinnes pie was unedible because of the amount of salt; I tend to like my food salty, and I often add salt to food, but this was the first time ever I actually found something too salty to eat. I was so hungry at this point that I didn't want to wait any longer for them to replace it, so I just split the meal with my husband. The chef agreed it was too salty, and didn't charge me for it.
There was a couple that had come in before we got our table, and when we left after having dinner they were still waiting for the table, and we heard the waitress offering a free drink... Clearly this pub needs to sort out these problems.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.