We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming . . . . . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millfields Hotel

Save Saved
You added Millfields Hotel to your Saves list
Millfields Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millfields Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Bargate, Grimsby DN34 5AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Grimsby
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming . . . . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip and every member of the staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. My room was very large with ample facilities and a very comfortable bed.The food menu offered sufficient choice for all tastes and the lunches I had there were appetising and nourishing. There was plenty of opportunity to order your chosen breakfast and/or select other items from the small buffet. As I was in Grimsby, I ate mainly fish. If you are carrying a great deal of heavy luggage, there are steps and stairs to negotiate both inside and outside. This hotel was more than adequate for the days I spent in Grimsby, and I would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
8
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

To be fair the staff were very polite and friendly and the rooms were deserving of a 3 star rating. The breakfast was enjoyable and very quickly served, my only faults with the hotel was the stench of fish was unbearable and the atmosphere of the bar could be cut with a knife. This is a good place to stay go straight to sleep and get up for breakfast and go. For atmosphere, entertaining or for a functions I'd personally be very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from an over night stay at Millfields. We were there for a wedding and it was lovely from start to finish. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and were bigger than expected. The food was lovely and the portions were very generous,with some nice touches for a breakfast choice, like smoked Grimsby haddock or smoked salmon and poached eggs on a muffin.I would stay at Millfields again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bildeston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in Millfields on business for a few nights. It wasn't my choice, I was booked in, but went with it anyway. A slightly quirky set up. Car park very busy when I arrived, but then realised it was due to people in the gym / squash courts. There certainly weren't as many cars in the mornings. Room was very average, dark, hot, with a dehumidifier in it presumably to stop any damp smells. Food was pub grub, menu tried to be something it wasn't. Bar gets inhabited by local bar flies as well in the evenings. I'd said I'd eat in the restaurant on my first night but when I ordered my food at the bar and said I'd sit in the restaurant, I was told it was all set for breakfast and closed for the night?! Was also noisy in the mornings, doors slamming, noisy pipework etc.

I didn't return the following week when I needed to stay away, I went somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A lovely, big, listed building has been turned into a spa hotel with gym. Clean, comfortable with good service and great food.

You can eat in the restaurant before 6 pm from a short(ish) but varied menu on a buy one get one free basis. The food is fresh and plentiful, and the fresh Grimsby fish and chips is absolutely fabulous

There is a more extensive menu if you want to eat later

Well worth a visit for food, real ale, good coffee, comfortable surroundings, and al fresco on a lovely warm day or evening

Room Tip: Go before six and have the fish and chips
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at the Millfields Hotel whilst on a business trip in Grimsby. The hotel delivered on all counts. Location, cleanliness, ammenities, comfort and service.
With very friendly, helpful staff nothing was too much bother. Even a quick tour was provided upon check-in.
If you need a good quality hotel in Grimsby then look no further than this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my first stay at Millfields. Although I was only there overnight, I would certainly stay there again.

Because I know the Town well, at first I thought I would choose somewhere slightly more central ... but as there were one or two appalling reports of such places, I didn't. And, despite the greater expense, I'm glad I didn't. It's only a short walk up Brighowgate to Top Town, or along Cartergate to West Marsh for the Alexandra Dock; also, Park Drive is nearby: People's Park's a picture. "Park and ride" - parking at Millfields - is eminently feasible for getting to many places in Grimsby or Cleethorpes.

At Millfields, the staff were welcoming and friendly, without exception; and highly efficient too, I thought. My room was nicely decorated and furnished, and beautifully clean, as was the en suite shower room.

The Lincolnshire breakfast was splendid: both tasty and filling. I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millfields Hotel

Address: 53 Bargate, Grimsby DN34 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millfields Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Millfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millfields Hotel Grimsby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millfields Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.