We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have eaten better food from a travelling fair” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The St. James' Hotel Grimsby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The St. James' Hotel Grimsby to your Saves list
The St. James' Hotel Grimsby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Grimsby
cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I have eaten better food from a travelling fair”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Arrived with high expectations looking forward to a birthday treat.

Left minus more money than the stay was worth, and very bad food poisoning that lasted a week.

If you really must stay here DO NOT eat in the restaurant it is absolute rubbish, I really don't know who gave them 3 stars but they shouldn't have any.

Shame on you Corus!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    60
    42
    48
See reviews for
30
54
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

If you had lapsed into a coma in 1972 and woke up in 2007 in the bedroom I had you would think you had woken from a long sleep after a bad night out and wouldn't dream you had missed 35 years.

The hotel is in need of a total refurbishment and is scruffy. Food was expensive for what you got. Lots of noise all night with noisy drunks shouting till 4am and gangs of hoodies on bikes all over the place, not the place to park any sort of car and certainly not a decent one. The room was hot and smelly and decorated in woodchip paper, had an old bathroom with cracked tiles and had an old Decca tv with only 4 channels.

Would advise not to stay here under any circumstances. What is a main hotel chain doing running a hotel like this? It also does nothing for the reputation of Grimsby.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness. I will personally discuss your comments with the team and we can improve where we let you down.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

I stayed here for business reasons. The only plus point to the hotel was that it was in the centre of the town and therefore didn't need much searching to find it.

The staff were reasonably pleasant, but this was negated by their utter uselessness. Couldn't check in when arrived at 1pm and was told
to leave bags behind reception which was unmanned at times. When returned at 5pm was told that i had in fact been checked in. The lift
to the room was slow and sounded like it was dying. I took the stairs
after that first ride.

The door to the room was not secure, and the lock looked like it had been kicked in a few times. Bathroom was outdated, with ancient dinky toiletries which i left undisturbed, like the previous decade's
occupants. TV (with ancient aerial) only receives BBC 1 and 2, ITV and Channel 4. But only after a good half hour spent wiggling the aerial - and still left with poor picture quality. Bed was small, heating was on full, and I got a full run down of the Friday night entertainment from the hotel bar because of the thin walls and aluminium windows. Drunks wandered past all night, occasionally roaring and swearing at each other. I put the chair against the door in an attempt at some security.

breakfast was cereal, with the option of tinned grapefruit, tinned orange, tinned pears (in syrup), figs, dry dried apricots and what i can only presume was tinned mango in syrup. i did not try the hot food because my toast arrived cold.

i got a free newspaper though. but the night in the hotel wasn't worth it.

  • Liked — free newspaper
  • Disliked — too much to fit into this box
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Good points
- Friendly reception staff
- Free parking
- Central location
- Fairly comfortable bed
- Pretty church next door (also see bad points)
- Cheap

Bad points
- Out dated shabby decor (70s)
- Room was not sound proof - so I had no sleep. From 11pm-3am there were noisy revellers returning from nearby pubs and clubs then a 3am fire alarm then church bells first thing in the morning every 1/4 hour.
- Plug socket was not useable for hair straightners
- Slow to check out

Overall a very bad night's stay which I will not repeat at this hotel despite how cheap it was. Essential advice if you go to this hotel, take ear plugs!

  • Liked — Free parking
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. James' Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James' Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James' Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The St. James' Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.