We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but clean and comortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. James' Hotel Grimsby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The St. James' Hotel Grimsby to your Saves list
The St. James' Hotel Grimsby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Grimsby
doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cheap but clean and comortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

stayed at the st james for 1 night with my wife just for a cheap break. the hotel is right in the centre of grimsby adjacent to freshney place shopping centre so is ideal for shopping! its also close to the town centre nightlife aswell. the bus station is also close by so buses into cleethorpes every 10 mins(£1.20 single). the hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable also the staff were very friendly and helpfull.its not the ritz but what do you want for £30 a night!!!! hotel bar pepys is very cheap !all draught lager and bitter £1.60 a pint! all house doubles£1.50!!! plus loads of other offers!!! we really enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the st James Grimsby. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    53
    39
    46
See reviews for
26
52
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Have just spent a single night here as we were in Grimsby for a wedding. The entrance to this place is pretty dire - just off a dual carraigeway and on the road leading to a car park - but if you want a cheap hotel in a town centre with basic amenities then this is the place. The hotel reception are friendly enough, but I would echo earlier comments about the lift as you certainly get the impression that it could pack up any second. Whatever you do though don't use the back stairs as they are only for use in an emergency & haven't seen a lick of paint in years. The rooms are basic - we overlooked the road which is probably the better option as Grimsby can get quite loud at night as people walk past the front of the hotel. The bath taps didn't work properly as the water would only come through the showerhead, and there was only 1 towel for the 2 of us.
The basic rate quoted is for room only - breakfast was an extra £7.50 each, and it is served buffet style in the restaurant area. Don't expect gourmet food, perhaps best to stick to the cereal. The hotel was due to hold a wedding reception later in the day that we stayed so they must be doing something right - my guess is that they are in the right price bracket for people wishing to stay in the centre of town. If we returned to Grimsby and were looking for a hotel would we stay here again - sadly the answer is no, probably not.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness. I will personally discuss your comments with the team and we can improve where we let you down.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Hotel nice and clean good rooms breakfast well worth the money had a great time. Go and see for yourself don't take any notice of reviews all not true.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the st James Grimsby. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Once you get past the fairly austere rear view and car park on the busy main road, you see the pleasant frontage onto a green square with trawlerman memorial and church. The fairly spacious bedrooms are clean and comfortable, the green facing rooms have a lovely outlook and are quieter. It isn't luxurious but the staff are friendly and it is really close to the centre of town, which is not "grim" at all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we have taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind Regards Paul Grantley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Firstly, as soon as we arrived at the hotel, the staff managed to give us somebody else's room key .. leaving us without one! Which then was left in the door for anybody to take or go into our room and not given to us in person. Secondly, the room smelled like an animal cage (of sawdust etc.) and the raditor was on maxium heat (even though it was one of the hottest days we've had so far!). We then looked at the shower and it was attached to the wall on a small piece of wood and wasn't easy to make it work, so that meant a trip downstairs to see if it was broken. The button on it also came off if you lifted it off.

There was chewing gum in the room, teabags under the bed and as many other reviews have said, things such as the lift didn't work and you had to put your finger through a hole to press the button!

As for the food, it was of poor quality and the chocolate cake that got placed before everybody was soaked in what seemed to be milk, which was most likely a poor quality cream!

There were also the drunk people outside the hotel that were all piling in with cans and drinking in the middle of the day time as commented on in another review.

The hotel also states that it is great for business conferences etc. when it has the smallest conference room I have ever seen! More like a small classroom than a conference room!

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gippo10
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

i stay in a lot of hotels through out the year and ths is terrible.
to put it in short.
the rooms are crap, the beds are hard, the shower did not work.
the food was discusting and way over priced.
to get the lift to work you had to put your finger into a hole as the button had been pushed through.
i was booked in for the week and i chechedout the next morning and found another hotel.

DONT BOTHER

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at the St James Hotel. I treat feedback with utmost seriousness.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Travelling to the Christmas market at Lincoln, we stayed at the
St. James Hotel for two nights in December. We had read the
reviews on trip advisor previously and were a little concerned
obviously. However we were quite surprised that on arrival we
were welcomed by a friendly staff and our luggage was
transferred to our room very quickly. Whilst the hotel is a little
dated, it is undergoing a re-furbishment which will take about
8 months, but we found the hotel to be very clean and our
room which had just been fitted with a new entrance door and
frame, with high security lock was nicely furnished with
comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. The television
whilst being small gave all the five main channels and the
coloured picture was good, which was quite sufficient for our
needs. In the restaurant the quality and quantity of the food
was good and it was sreved hot. The small bar area was
comfortable and the prices were comparable with many other
hotels in which we have stayed. Bearing in mind that the Hotel
is situated in the town centre, a certain amount of night time
noise is understandable, however our first floor room
overlooked the car park and we were not disturbed at all. I can
understand that the rooms which face the church are fronted by
a pathway which leads from the main area of the town, where
all the pubs are situated and you could be disturbed by young
people walking home when the pubs close. Also the church
bell rings early every morning from about 6 oclock onwards.
However the hotel is centrally situated in the centre of a clean
town with a brilliant shopping center and I dont think people
should be put off from going there by previous reviews. We
found it ideal considering the price we had paid.

Satisfied traveller.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — Lack of heating on the stairs and passageways.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the st James Grimsby. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. James' Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James' Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James' Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The St. James' Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. James' Hotel Grimsby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.