We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The chef is in one of his moods."” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
1 Bethlehem Street DN31 1JN, Grimsby, England
01472-36-14-69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Grimsby
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“"The chef is in one of his moods."”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The White Hart caters for the discerning diner. We were greeted at the door and directed to the finest plastic garden seats. It is heartening to see that the establishment is committed to staff development. The chef warms up a fine platter of roasted meats and evidently deals expertly and robustly with customer feedback - when asked why there might be a slight delay of 45 minutes between courses his colleague remarked that "he's in one of his moods - let them moan."

All in all we had a memorable evening. I have to pay - authentic - tribute to Crystal, who worked tirelessly to serve all evening.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    11
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very high quality meal for a town centre pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Wrongly assumed that this would be fairly typical pub grub ; visited Tuesday lunchtime and so surprised at the choice and then quality of the meals that followed, will be heading back there again on my next visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nothing too much trouble, friendly staff & food was delicious! And a proper Sunday dinner for around £7 you can't get better than that. Not a frozen pea in sight!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I visited with my sister on a Friday lunchtime. I was having a day shopping but she was on an hour's lunchbreak from work. We chose sandwiches as we thought they would be a quick meal - how wrong we were, they took a good 40 minutes to arrive and I had to ask the waitress to chase them up - she came back and just said that the chef was very busy although the place wasn't exactly buzzing! When they eventually arrived they were not on 'malted bloomer ' as stated on the menu but ordinary sliced brown bread from a square loaf and were accompanied by lettuce that looked as if it had been hanging around for days. All in all, it was most disappointing. I pointed out all the faults to the waitress who just looked dumbfounded at my comments and whose response was 'Oh, OK'. We chose this place over our usual restaurant because we had heard it had been done up recently and wanted to see if it lived up to some of its reviews but after this experience we certainly won't be returning to the White Hart or recommending it to our friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We saw this advertised as a Groupon deal, which made it excellent value. Conveniently located near to shops and parking. We travelled from the North bank of the Humber and enjoyed the change of scene.

The sandwiches, scones and cakes were plentiful and fresh. Our waitress was attentive and took care to check we had everything we wanted.

At first we were the only patrons having afternoon tea. It would have been even more pleasant with more customers to create atmosphere. Still, another day might be busier. Obviously the lunchtime session had finished, and that menu showed a good range of options.

We shall definitely return, probably for lunch next time.

Well done!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Grimsby, Lincolnshire
Grimsby, Lincolnshire
 
Grimsby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.