We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Top Quality Food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of So Thai

So Thai
19 High Street, Cleethorpes, England
+44 1472 697744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 107 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Multi award winning authentic Thai cuisine. Trading now for over 6 years with a very good reputation not only locally but from regular customers nationwide. So if you like to dine with a difference come along to So Thai and taste the wonders of Thai cuisine.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“"Top Quality Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was my girlfriends 50th birthday bash with her friends and she wanted to take them out for a meal which made it easy for us as we love tai food and there was only one truly exceptional Tai Restaurant in Cleethorpes,"So Tai"
When we arrived,we were taken to the upstairs bar area to wait for our remaining guests to arrive and whilst upstairs,we ordered drinks which included Tai bottled beer which tasted very refreshing.When everyone arrived,we were shown to our table and were presented with some bowls of prawn crackers with dips to start us off as an appetiser before the main meal and then the waiters brought through our starters which were spread out,buffet style and there was four varieties including tai fishcakes,tai chicken on skewers etc and they were delicious and hot.The waiter service was firstclass,they didn"t rush you and were always on hand if you wanted more drinks ordering.We then had our main course brought to us,again buffet style,with rice and there was plenty to go round for ten of us.
The service and quality was first class and some might say its quite expensive here but as you say,"you get what you pay for" this applies to the "SO TAI" restaurant and we"ll be coming back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Original Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place has Thai chefs, who know their job. Very good food but rather on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We always have lovely meal at So Thai! We've been on our own and with friends and it's always been good. Lovely bar upstairs and stylish restaurant. The service is great and the food is lovely. A must to try if you haven't already been!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place! Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We often choose this restaurant for our family nights out and have never been disappointed!
The bar is stylish and relaxed, food always great and brilliant service! The price is extremely reasonable!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Style without substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is very stylish and certainly looks the part but is really let down by its food. We went mid week when it was very quiet and sat close to the kitchen. Not a lot of cooking sounds but they seem to have a very busy microwave. All food was rather bland. 3 of our party have travelled in South East Asia and described the food as 'dumbed down Thai' to cater more to the European taste, great for a lot of people but not if you're wanting so,etching authentic tasting. Very disappointed as had wanted to try this restaurant for months prior. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoThai19, Owner at So Thai, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for the below comments you have provided. We appreciate all feedback and continually strive to review areas that need strengthening. Hearing such feedback enables us to 'get it right' for the next time and hopefully enhances the visitor experience with regards to providing fantastic quality in our execution of food and service.

It is very disappointing to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. With regards to your comment, 'overuse of microwave,' I would like to reassure both you, existing and potentially new customers about our microwave use. We use our microwave to heat our starter plates and to melt our warm desserts. All of our food is freshly cooked to order and tailored to our customers preference. We pride ourselves on the quality of fresh ingredients and class A meat that is presented in all of our authentic Thai cuisines. Equally with personal taste - every individual has a different palette and tastes will differ. Our award winning Thai Chef cooks authentically and serves food the way she was taught in Thailand. Every Thai chef will cook differently and use different styles and techniques. Hence why the food you tasted whilst visiting Asia may be different to what we serve at So Thai. Our food has certainly not been altered to make it westernised. The beauty of our food is due to its Thai authenticity and speciality.

We wish you all the best for the future.

So Thai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So Thai also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to So Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage So Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.