We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Express

Oriental Express
Kings Road | N.E. Lincs, Cleethorpes DN35 0AG, England
01472 69 49 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 96 restaurants in Cleethorpes
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spot on for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Been here loads of times me n the Misses went this time a buffet each and a pint each £18.loads of food all u can eat plus ice cream who doesn't like ice cream after lol

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    30
    40
    27
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rainy day visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came to Oriental Express on a Sunday just after lunch hour and it was still busy. We have eaten there several times before and always enjoy the food and i find it very reasonably priced. I think the manager seems a pleasant man but he does seem unaware of his staff and how they are. The bar staff were abrupt on this last visit and seem to be annoyed they are working. However the girl that showed us to the table and who we spoke to a few times on this visit there was a lovely girl, very smiley and approachable, the other staff would do well to observe how she works.

Enjoyed the food but think the potato for the chips has been changed, did not like how they tasted at all. I like Oriental Express for it's food and where it is situated but apart from the lovely girl who served us on Sunday i think the staff need to cheer up just a little bit :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited The Oriental Express on a Tuesday lunchtime.
It is cheap enough, and you can eat as much as you wish. The Chinese dishes that we tried were fine, but we didnt attempt the indian ones, as they looked as if they had been standing for a while.
The decor of the place is in real need of a freshen-up, a lick of paint would make a huge difference.
To be fair, it was really busy.
If you want a big lunch/dinner for a small price, then its ok, and probably great for children.
Personally, I would rather pay a little more, and eat in nicer surroundings, but it was fine for a quick filling meal, as much as you can eat, including dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“belly buster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We regularly eat here especially for family occasions, last time was my grandaughters/stepsons joint birthdays. Always clean and well run food is excellent and plentiful. You will probably find you won't make it past a second trip up to the buffet but it's worth having lots of small plates and trying something new each time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Indian and Chinese choices on a self service basis, excellent value especially for families. Food hot and well displayed

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Express also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Oriental Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.