We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotary car Rally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel to your Saves list
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ermine Street, Broughton DN20 0AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broughton
Flushing,UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rotary car Rally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed at the Forest Pines for a 3 day Rotary car rally. On arriving late due to a car problem we were offered a cold meal as the restaurant was closed which was very welcome after a long journey. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was self-service with an excellent choice. We had three evening meals for our group of some 80 persons, the service was excellent and the food of a very good quality and choice. The rooms were very clean and well presented, beds King size and very comfortable. In all a very enjoyable stay. Would not hesitate to return to this venue again if offered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear C0llings

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at Forest Pines for your break with Rotary Car Rally . It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you were well looked after by our team. I will pass on your kind comments as it's always nice to know our guests are happy with the service they receive

We look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to pay us a return visit.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    293
    129
    51
    28
See reviews for
105
238
14
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Bunch of golf mad geordies turned up for a weekend of golf and we were not disappointed.
Hotel rooms: clean, tidy, 2 double beds, well appointed.No complaints.
Food: have to admit could do better at evening meals,wasn't the best, breakfast was on the other hand excellent, plenty of choice and go back as much as you want.
Drink: Expensive but with a 10% dis, not too bad.
Staff: couldn't do enough for you, excellent.
Golf: Well! as a 21 handicapper, I found the courses excellent, don't overhit, play to your h/cap and you will enjoy your round on this challenging golf resort. I disagree with the comment that the courses are set up for single figure golfers, but everybody to their own.
Great weekend let down by the evening meals a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Geordie92

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us at Forest Pines. Your comments are really appreciated and I do hope that you will be able to return soon.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Recently stopped here on a q hotel offer. I found the hotel to be very clean and tidy and the staff extremely helpful. The food was lovely and the health spa was excellent. 2 small complaints in the rooms, the beds were 2 single beds braced together and not very comfy at all and also it was red hot in the room at night and the windows were bolted shut! Not good and also not the safest in case of a fire?! Apart from that though it was very nice, maybe a bit pricy if you just turned up but we were there on an offer which was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Steve210676


Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at Forest Pines.

I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you particularly enjoyed our health spa and restaurant.

I have taken on-board your comments regarding the issues which did not meet with your expectations and these have been shared with the relevant teams.

I do hope that you will not be deterred from staying with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to pay us a return visit.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am a regular visitor with the family as both resident and diner. The venue is great for the family with plenty of choice between the main hotel bar to the Pines bar at the back. There is no pressure to order straight away which gives you time to chill with a few drinks and have some quality time with the kids. The staff are always polite and friendly, especially with the kids. The only thing that lets it down is the poor food which is somewhat overpriced!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Paul C, thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at Forest Pines. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, i take your comments on board regarding food quality and priceing and will dicuss with our Executive Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to pay us a return visit.

Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Golf break for 2 nights with a group of friendswas spoilt by the dinner menu, Beefburger at that price is not acceptable, and the main courses lacked any vegetables other than the few arranged neatly on the plate. Penny pinching at its best.
Drinks in the bars were overpriced as were the snacks available after golf, even with the Q club card.
The course was well maintained but was set up for low single figure golfers, If you are not that then then the golf will not be enjoyable, I don't want it easy but would like to be able to find the ball just off the very narrow fairways.
Disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear richguyb, thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for the issues that you highlighted. Our menu choices are designed for golfers who have had an enjoyable day on the course and we will add your comments to our ongoing development plan, to ensure that our excellent service is maintained. On the set up of the golf course, we have two cuts of rough and clearance in all landing areas to ensure the speed of play is maintained, with our course being in the Top 100 UK courses, it will always pose a fair but challenging test of golf.

Kind Regards
John Angus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nice hotel and staff but some things need to looked at!
Rooms can be very noisy. Comfy beds. However, I had room service and it was terrible! Not as described, cold, hair in meal and the salt pot had the remnants of some previous customers dinner on it! Come on staff, surely you would notice it was filthy?,

Room Tip: The rooms are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, General Manager at Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear skywitch, thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for the issues that you highlighted. I have personally spent some time with my team to ensure that your comments have been corrected and our normal excellent service has been restored. I look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Pines in the near future.

Kind Regards
John Angus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a three night four day golf break. Course in good condition. Staff excellent BUT the cost of drinks and the food totally unacceptable.to the point that we will not return. Our 12 man group has visited the hotel many times before with little or no compaint. The cost of drinks has been mentioned but to pay £22 for a bottle of very inferior red wine(much more for anything better) and 3.50 for a coffe is not acceptable..
If I had paid 10.00 for a three course special and been served this fayre I would have been reasonably satisfied. I was not paying this price! My first meal comprised a piece of smoked haddock which would have been pushed to make a sprat look small. I refused to accept it and was then given a piece that was no bigger. The rest of the dish contained half a dozen pieces of cucumber cut in half 4 quarters of a small tomatoe and some sprinkled raw onion. The meals on the other nights were similarly poor. The choices were three main courses and a vegy option each night. Just not good enough. I complained and we were give some complimentary wine to go some way to placate us, but at the time of my complaint there was a mention that " we put the golfers in this room". I now asume from this that golfing parties are second class guests. These second class guests spent over £3800 in hotel fees and close to £1500 in drinks and other snacks. If QHotels find that it is worth losing this amount of income to save some pennies on food then they will not be in business for too long. Oh! by the way, a large group of lady golfers on a similar break to our own positioned on the refecory table behind us had to wait over one & a half hours for the main course over which I understand they were given little choice and indeed demanded some chips to fill them up. They also will not be returning and they also had been very regular visitors to the hotel.
Liile more to say

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: Ermine Street, Broughton DN20 0AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Pines is a luxury golf and country club hotel set within its own 190 acres of woodland just off junction 4 of the M180 in North Lincolnshire. The hotel is one of the region's premier hotels with extensive facilities including 188 luxury en-suite bedrooms, 18 metre swimming pool, gymnasium, beauty spa, function rooms and 27 holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Broughton
Forest Pines Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Forest Pines Broughton
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Broughton, Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.