We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Horse Shoes

Royal Horse Shoes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waltham on the Wolds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Horse Shoes
Melton Road, Waltham on the Wolds, Melton Mowbray LE14 4AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There's no place like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Royal Horseshoes in Waltham On The Wolds is somewhat of a hidden gem. I stay here on a regular basis and could not fault it. The rooms in the annex bulding are always clean and warm, the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant area is relaxed and welcoming and the food is absolutely fantastic- well priced, big portions but most importantly top quality and delicious! Mick and co. are extremely hospitable. The best B+B in the area for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Royal Horseshoes was amazing, quaint, great food and fantastic owners. Can't recommend it enough. The owners make you feel so welcome. Was there for a business trip, but would go back on vacation in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We rented a property in the locality for a family reunion and on the last night we were very fortunate to select this country pub for an evening meal. On entering the pub you were immediately welcomed by the landlord a practice sadly lacking in some establishments these days.
We had not booked but tables were set up to accommodate our needs and the children were given crayons and colouring sheets to keep them amused.
The menu was well thought out and provided a good varied choice of fare and the wine list was excellent both in the scope of wines listed and their price. The quality of the food was excellent and the use of locally sourced ingredients commended. You will not leave disappointed as the portion sizes were more than adequate and the service was prompt, friendly and efficient.Best of all the total cost very reasonable. We shall certainly visit again when in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a warm and welcoming country pub with very friendly staff and whole host of local characters to entertain you. Michael and Jackie are fastastic hosts they made our stay very enjoyable indeed. The breakfast was top notch - the jumbo sandwich was the highlight for my friend. The rooms are well furnished with some nice modern touches; they are not huge but fine for one or two people. All in all, I would whole heartedly recommend RHS to anyone - a real gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Royal Horseshoes is our "local", we live in the village and have dined here a number of times. Landlord Mick frequently lays on theme nights and special events, which are always well attended. Every Monday evening is "Pie Night", which has become extremely popular locally - and at £6.00 per head for home-made pie, chips, peas and gravy you can understand why!

We recently tried Pie Night for the first time, and it certainly will not be the last! The Royal Horseshoes is always clean, warm and welcoming - and the food is very good "pub grub", with prompt and pleasant service. Everything you want from a local Inn - well done Mick!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recommended by friends whose party we attended.Found the hotel very comfortable and the food excellent; we were served the best steaks we have eaten in a restaurant in a long time. Mick and his staff very friendly and helpful. This is a part of the country that we have not visited in the past; we will be going there again specifically to stay at the Royal Horseshoes and enjoy the village and its surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and i we're staying at a local hotel and we're looking for somewhere to eat on our second night,
thankfully we found this fantastic traditional village pub, we popped in for a lunchtime drink and we're greeted by Mick & Jackie who are two great characters and we're incredibly hospitable. Although they we're fully booked for dinner that evening they accomodated us in the snug bar which was great and on our return that evening we we're looked after just as well as we had been earlier on that day even though they we're packed to the rafters and had so many people to look after. The pub itself is a lovely old style thatched roofed building with low ceilings and traditional beams it has been renovated to a very high standard and the mix of modern furnishings with the old fixtures and fittings blend very well, giving a warm inviting feel to this little gem! The food itself was very reasonably priced and we we're reliably informed that the menu changes daily as the chef likes to use good quality local produce whenever possible, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and i thoroughly enjoyed sampling the various real ales that they had to offer, if your a lager lout they had various lagers on tap but i was more than happy with my pint of Village Idiot although i got a few funny looks when i asked for it!! Thanks to Mick and Jackie for making us so welcome and we shall definitely pop in again if we are passing on our travels from the wilds of Essex !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Horse Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horse Shoes

Address: Melton Road, Waltham on the Wolds, Melton Mowbray LE14 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray > Waltham on the Wolds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waltham on the Wolds
Also Known As:
Royal Horse Shoes Hotel Waltham On The Wolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Horse Shoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Horse Shoes to your Saves list