We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uppingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falcon Hotel
The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Uppingham
nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay having enjoyed an annual dinner in the Oak Room. The hotel was easy to find as was the ample parking space available to the rear. The bar was large, light and airy and had a real log fire burning. The receptionist was an ideal ambassador for the hotel - first person to see, friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was reburbished to a high standard. The double glazing worked well. The shower was fantastic. The food was delicious and the staff attentive and helpful. Slightly disappointing that the bar shut at midnight for residents when we were still enjoying ourselves. Superb breakfast menu. This hotel is in the middle of being refurbished but that did not detract from the stay.I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel overlooking the market place - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our newly refurbished bedrooms are carefully renovated to ensure maximum comfort for our guests and all our staff are trained to the high standards set by our new owners. Our food is prepared by skilled and experienced chefs and they continually strive to ensure that it is as tasty and delicious as you say. We are sorry that the bar closed at midnight but we must take into account that our staff have all worked diligently during the meal service and need to complete their service at a set time. However, we are now in the process of employing night time staff to accommodate guests who would stay up beyond midnight. We thank you for your recommendation which has directed us to this course of action. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Falcon is a warm and friendly hotel, professionally run.During our stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was excellent and the decor beautiful. The hotel has been recently refurbished and our room was again beautifully decorated and well appointed. The hotel is very clean and has a lovely warm atmosphere.The owner Carol, was keen to make sure we were comfortable and spent quite some time chatting informally to us. We weren't rushed at mealtimes and breakfast was served until 10.30am, which we greatly appreciated. We thorougly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
It is such a delight when guests let us know that they thoroughly enjoy their stay with us. Our staff are especially pleased to know that their efforts are much appreciated. Carol and Robert Wills have set high standards for the hotel and they are very much involved in the day to day management of the hotel as well as overseeing the extensive renovations programme. We, as a team, strive hard to provide the best possible service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming your friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mowsley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We used to be regular luncheon visitors to the Falcon but had not been for several years as it slipped into decline. We were recently looking for a restaurant in South Leicestershire where we could spend a leisurely birthday lunch for the two of us and, having read the current good reviews on Trip Advisor (and having ignored the inevitable single negative one), decided to try the Falcon once again.

Good Decision. We were looked after from the moment we arrived by a superb waitress, Mandy, who understood exactly what we were looking for and made sure it happened.

The meal, from a varied menu, was excellent and the relaxed atmosphere spot on. We had elected not to dine in the dining room but to have our meal in the larger brasseire lounge and again this was the right choice.

The public areas that we saw have gone from being Tired and Unloved to a place you could happily spend many an hour. Congratulations to the new owners for their vision.

We will definitely return in the future and would recommend the restaurant –and staff – highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We thank you for your kind comments and generous praise. Since commencing ownership of the Falcon Hotel, our new owners Mr and Mrs Wills have set exceptionally high standards for all aspects of our service. We are delighted you were well taken care of by Mandy.
Our hotel is in the process of being totally refurbished.
The public rooms have now been lovingly redecorated to give our guests the right ambiance with a roaring log fire over the winter period. Our menus are constantly reviewed and changed. Our chefs continually endeavour to accommodate a wide range of tastes and introduce new ideas for our diners.
We look forward to welcoming both of you to The Falcon in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A wedding function, closes the kitchen to any passer by....

I never can understand why a rated establishment, in the centre of such a large busy market town, cannot cope with rustling up a couple of sandwiches on a saturday afternoon lunchtime.

Oh ... I realise why, the company owns two other eateries in town, and they shunt them off there!

Well, they have lost their dog friendly star with me & partner.

Added to which:
Dom P's won't allow dogs in after 12:00 midday.
The Vaults serve out food that has to be returned (see review).

As to going to lunch at Uppingham ......

It won't be at any of these three intermingled eateries

:-(

Room Tip: Don't go here when there is a wedding meal on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
When a wedding with in excess of 100 guests book the Falcon Hotel as their reception venue, we close the main lounge to the public, so that firstly our staff can concentrate their efforts to make sure that the day goes well for the bride and groom and secondly that members of the public are not waiting an inordinately long time for service. During these events the tap bar & front room are open. Both our sister establishments, Don Paddy's and The Vaults are managed to provide the same attention and service to guests as the Falcon. We are sorry you did not experience this. We welcome dogs in both the Tap Bar and The Vaults. At Don Paddy’s we offer a dog free environment after 12.00 when we commence food service. We are a small, family run group, and work very hard to offer an excellent experience at all three of our establishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently attended our friends wedding reception at the Falcon hotel and we have to say from our point of arrival until we left, it was one of the most enjoyable and welcoming hotels we have ever visited. The decor and ambiance of the entire hotel was second to none – exceptionally clean and tastefully refurbished. The food was excellent, so much so that we looked out the owner, Carol to express our compliments to the chef and lovely staff. We rated this hotel 5*plus and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire day. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Falcon Hotel for any occasion. Thank you Carol and staff again for providing such a memorable day for our friend and we hope to see you again soon - Sally and Anna Northampton

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We thank you for your sincere compliments. Our owners have set a high standard of service and all our staff know and understand how special a wedding day is for the bride and groom. We pay great attention to the detailed requirements of the day and as it unfolds, we take much pleasure in seeing the bride and groom, and all their guests, enjoying the occasion. The catering team here are very experienced at delivering excellent food for these occasions and take great pride in their work. We thank you for all your compliments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, Northamptonshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We got married at this venue at the end of September and from the moment we entered its doors and met Carol and Sam we knew we had done the right thing. They asked us what we wanted for our wedding which was brilliant no pre-prepared menus. On the day everything was perfect, the staff are friendly and very professional, the food was amazing (as we have sampled a few times with lunch and an evening meal last Valentines Day). We stayed in the Apple Suite which is currently unrefurbished but was our choice as is slightly separate from the hotel with its own lounge and garden so very private and your woof can stay with you there too. The gardens outside the function room are beautiful and made a perfect backdrop for some of our photographs. All our guests were impressed by the venue, the rooms and the general all round relaxing ambience that the hotel has. We have booked to go back for our first anniversary and will be dropping a hint to my new husband for a night out for my forthcoming birthday. Thank you so much to all the staff for making our wedding a perfect day. Amanda and Michael Punter.

Room Tip: Our wedding guests stayed in both refurbished and unrefurbished and all the guests commented what a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wedding days are so special for the bride, groom and their guests. From the moment we first meet the happy couple, to the moment their last guests leave the hotel, all our staff work hard to ensure that the day is a memorable one. We specialise in catering for weddings and we are glad to have delivered just what you wanted. The Apple Suite, with its private garden offers seclusion and privacy as you know, but it is now being updated in our latest round of refurbishments. Do return to check out the upgrade and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel with my 3 children because unlike most hotels they guaranteed we could have interconnecting rooms, perfect when travelling with children. Rooms 5&6 have been refurbished to a high standard. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious cooked breakfast, chef accommodated all the children's requests. Great location, uppingham lovely market town, and easy drive to Rutland water where we hired bikes for the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us. Our newly refurbished rooms 5 & 6 are ideal for families. All our staff make a special effort to accommodate our guest’s requests and it is great to know that the children enjoyed our cooked breakfast too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Address: The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Uppingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 16th–century coaching inn is situated in the centre of the historical market town of Uppingham, just four miles from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of the natural splendours of Rutland. The hotel has a superb traditional terrace restaurant, a comfortable brasserie lounge, and a cosy bar offering traditional ales. With its unique market town location there is no better place to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or just a relaxing weekend. Our management and staff look forward to giving you a very warm Falcon welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Uppingham
The Falcon Hotel Uppingham, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Falcon Hotel to your Saves list