We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uppingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falcon Hotel
Save
You added The Falcon Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corby, Northamptonshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We got married at this venue at the end of September and from the moment we entered its doors and met Carol and Sam we knew we had done the right thing. They asked us what we wanted for our wedding which was brilliant no pre-prepared menus. On the day everything was perfect, the staff are friendly and very professional, the food was amazing (as we have sampled a few times with lunch and an evening meal last Valentines Day). We stayed in the Apple Suite which is currently unrefurbished but was our choice as is slightly separate from the hotel with its own lounge and garden so very private and your woof can stay with you there too. The gardens outside the function room are beautiful and made a perfect backdrop for some of our photographs. All our guests were impressed by the venue, the rooms and the general all round relaxing ambience that the hotel has. We have booked to go back for our first anniversary and will be dropping a hint to my new husband for a night out for my forthcoming birthday. Thank you so much to all the staff for making our wedding a perfect day. Amanda and Michael Punter.

Room Tip: Our wedding guests stayed in both refurbished and unrefurbished and all the guests commented what a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wedding days are so special for the bride, groom and their guests. From the moment we first meet the happy couple, to the moment their last guests leave the hotel, all our staff work hard to ensure that the day is a memorable one. We specialise in catering for weddings and we are glad to have delivered just what you wanted. The Apple Suite, with its private garden offers seclusion and privacy as you know, but it is now being updated in our latest round of refurbishments. Do return to check out the upgrade and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
39
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel with my 3 children because unlike most hotels they guaranteed we could have interconnecting rooms, perfect when travelling with children. Rooms 5&6 have been refurbished to a high standard. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious cooked breakfast, chef accommodated all the children's requests. Great location, uppingham lovely market town, and easy drive to Rutland water where we hired bikes for the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us. Our newly refurbished rooms 5 & 6 are ideal for families. All our staff make a special effort to accommodate our guest’s requests and it is great to know that the children enjoyed our cooked breakfast too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed just one night in one of the newly refurbished rooms to attend a family wedding held on site. Our room (number 7) was lovely. Beautiful bed linen, huge towels, lots of toiletries and a really luxurious feel about it. The bar was friendly and sandwiches were well presented and good quality food. After the wedding we were able to mingle among the flowers and cottage views outside whichever was covered so the rain didn't stop us!.
Our meal after the wedding was served in a character full room overlooking the market square and the food was superb. Fillet steak that was perfectly cooked and creamy mash with pepper sauce made everyone very happy! Breakfast was served to everyone together around one huge table which was a really nice touch and unexpected. The quality of food was again really high. It was a perfect place for an intimate wedding and I couldn't fault the service or standards. The staff were friendly and professional, and we will go back for a meal another day. One night felt like a mini holiday....lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front so we did get a little street noise at pub closing time but nothing to str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Organising, catering and making a wedding day special is one of our strengths. All our staff know how special this day is for the bride and groom and aim to make it as memorable as possible. We plan the event to the last detail and our reward is to know that you enjoyed the day. Glad too that you enjoyed the garden and, by the way, it has just received a guilt award as part of Uppingham in bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We first saw the Falcon 10 days after the new owners had taken over, when we were looking for a wedding venue for my daughter. Even though they were very busy, and there were tins of paint and dust sheets everywhere, James took time to show us around. We realised from the way they had already refurbished the lounge that this was going to be a spectacular venue, and booked immediately for 19 months ahead. We were not wrong! The wedding was two days ago and was everything we could have hoped for and more. The hotel was looking wonderful, with the public areas having been refurbished to a very high standard. The decor has a neutral colour scheme which does not clash with any wedding colours you may choose. There is a new stone ramp leading down into the main room from the back entrance, where the car park is, and a new spacious toilet for the disabled.

Carol and Sam could not have been more accommodating, friendly and professional and were more than willing to meet up to discuss our plans several times before the date. Your wedding day is tailor made to your specifications, the service is great, the food is fabulous (we could give our guests a choice of meal) plentiful and hot, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are of a very high standard. Beds were comfortable and huge, with big squashy pillows. There were tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers in the bedrooms. Our bathroom was beautiful marble and glass with complimentary toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Even those of our guests who booked the cheaper, unrefurbished rooms had nothing but praise.

Nothing was too much trouble and Carol made sure the day flowed without a hitch (except when the bride's mother forgot the wedding music cd and had to go back for it - but we can't blame her for that)! The garden, although small, is full of flowers and it was lovely to be able to sit out on the covered terrace. I cannot speak highly enough of the Falcon Hotel and its lovely staff - all of whom were polite, smiling and helpful. There was no problem when we went down to breakfast on Saturday morning a little too early. No one mentioned this and we were served immediately even though they were still setting up.

Breakfast on Sunday was in the Oak Room for all 26 of us who stayed and it was lovely to be able to catch up with them around the very long table. It was a perfect end to a perfect wedding. Thank you so much Carol, Sam, James and all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are two adjoining rooms which are behind a door to the corridor, so that their doors c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for believing in us when you booked your wedding 19 months ago. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway with the public areas and a selection of bedrooms now completed to the high standards you experienced. All our staff work hard to meet the requests of our guests whether with us for a wedding or a one night stay on business. We are pleased you enjoyed our garden which has since won the Guild Award in the Uppingham in Bloom Competition. As with all weddings, we aim to make the day a most memorable and enjoyable one for the bride, groom and their guests and we are delighted that yours turned out to be the perfect wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel sit’s nicely in the town square and looks a perfect picture. I had an evening meal here as friends were staying over for Burleigh Horse Trials.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and done to a good standard. The rooms are clean and tidy and even in the public areas, they are all well turned out.

My friends said that hotel room during their stay was very nice and that all their meals where of good quality, for which I can totally agree.

There was a good buzz about the place and the menu on the Saturday night that I dined there was varied, I was spoilt for choice. We were a party of eight, a few of us had the scallops and langoustines which were amazing though, we all thought the portion’s were on the slim side as it was not cheap! It would appear that it was an error on the Kitchen, but it was not enough to spoil a very pleasant meal.

The staff were very good and very welcoming and attentive, though they do need to read the table’s a little better during the courses, but this will get better over time as they get used to working as a team. If you had a question, they were very happy to help!

This is a little gem and I would be more than happy to dine here again as has a nit relaxed atmosphere after a busy day and just meeting up with friends and recounting the day’s experiences.

As for my friends! They have booked a room for next year when Burleigh Horse Trials is on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for you very valuable comments which we have taken on board. As with all businesses, working as a team is important and the staff here certainly strive to achieve this. We are delighted that despite a few teething problems you had a great evening and indeed your friends have already booked again for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. Stayed in one of the yet un-refurbished rooms but still more than adequate and very inkeeping with the whole ambience of the hotel. Bed very comfortable. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast here is how all hotels should serve it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
The Falcon Hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment programme, with some of our bedrooms scheduled for refurbishment in the New Year. However, as you have commented, even these rooms are of a good standard. Our staff take great pride in providing excellent standards of service and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had lunch here recently. The hotel is being refurbished and has been done beautifully. The attention to detail is impressive and we were made to feel welcome by all staff. Even those not dealing with us directly had a smile and a hello for us.
We had the club sandwiches which were so huge that we could have shared a portion. Delicious sandwiches with home made chips and lovely dressed salad.
We will definitely be back to try the restaurant in the evening. What a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back! Our lunch menu offers a variety of food and allows our guests to dine in an informal style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Address: The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Uppingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 16th–century coaching inn is situated in the centre of the historical market town of Uppingham, just four miles from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of the natural splendours of Rutland. The hotel has a superb traditional terrace restaurant, a comfortable brasserie lounge, and a cosy bar offering traditional ales. With its unique market town location there is no better place to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or just a relaxing weekend. Our management and staff look forward to giving you a very warm Falcon welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Uppingham
The Falcon Hotel Uppingham, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.