We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Falcon Hotel Fly's High!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Falcon Hotel to your Saves list
The Falcon Hotel
The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Falcon Hotel Fly's High!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel sit’s nicely in the town square and looks a perfect picture. I had an evening meal here as friends were staying over for Burleigh Horse Trials.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and done to a good standard. The rooms are clean and tidy and even in the public areas, they are all well turned out.

My friends said that hotel room during their stay was very nice and that all their meals where of good quality, for which I can totally agree.

There was a good buzz about the place and the menu on the Saturday night that I dined there was varied, I was spoilt for choice. We were a party of eight, a few of us had the scallops and langoustines which were amazing though, we all thought the portion’s were on the slim side as it was not cheap! It would appear that it was an error on the Kitchen, but it was not enough to spoil a very pleasant meal.

The staff were very good and very welcoming and attentive, though they do need to read the table’s a little better during the courses, but this will get better over time as they get used to working as a team. If you had a question, they were very happy to help!

This is a little gem and I would be more than happy to dine here again as has a nit relaxed atmosphere after a busy day and just meeting up with friends and recounting the day’s experiences.

As for my friends! They have booked a room for next year when Burleigh Horse Trials is on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for you very valuable comments which we have taken on board. As with all businesses, working as a team is important and the staff here certainly strive to achieve this. We are delighted that despite a few teething problems you had a great evening and indeed your friends have already booked again for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
37
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. Stayed in one of the yet un-refurbished rooms but still more than adequate and very inkeeping with the whole ambience of the hotel. Bed very comfortable. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast here is how all hotels should serve it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
The Falcon Hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment programme, with some of our bedrooms scheduled for refurbishment in the New Year. However, as you have commented, even these rooms are of a good standard. Our staff take great pride in providing excellent standards of service and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had lunch here recently. The hotel is being refurbished and has been done beautifully. The attention to detail is impressive and we were made to feel welcome by all staff. Even those not dealing with us directly had a smile and a hello for us.
We had the club sandwiches which were so huge that we could have shared a portion. Delicious sandwiches with home made chips and lovely dressed salad.
We will definitely be back to try the restaurant in the evening. What a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back! Our lunch menu offers a variety of food and allows our guests to dine in an informal style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A lovely hotel with great service situated in the picturesque village of Uppingham, England. The room we stayed in, The Honeymoon Suite, was spacious and totally updated with a large bathroom and nice amenities. The staff were all very attentive and friendly - always ready to offer assistance.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the updated rooms. Their restaurant was alos very good. Great meals a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished honeymoon suite. It is one of our best rooms. The village of Uppingham is, as you say, a most picturesque one close to Rutland water and offering exceptional outdoor activities to suit everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Thank you all for making the whole weekend such a fabulous event. The wedding coincided with the opening ceremony of the Olympic games meaning the whole square and hotel was 'rocking'.

Each and every individual member of staff was at all times most friendly, helpful and hospitable making the event a huge success. That coupled with wonderful food, fabulous accomadation including bathrooms and beds, make the Falcon a splendid establishment and one we would highly recommend.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Trevor Webster, Tokyo, Japan.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the market square which we would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were here to meet friends and see a concert mid week. Hotel is undergoing refurbishment, but no inconvenience while we were staying. Beautiful room, high ceilings, comfy bed, great mix of the old with bang up to date facilities, stunning bathroom. Didn't have a chance to sample food as only stayed one night, other than the vegetarian breakfast which was on the menu and did not have to be negotiated which made a nice change. We found good service and friendly staff at bar and reception. Hotel has its own car park and is centrally located to this delightful little town.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto the main square but was not noisy even with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to know that the on-going refurbishments to the hotel did not disturb you in any way.

Our commitment to providing a quality service, be it for guests wanting to enjoy a quick cup of tea with friends or attend an all day wedding reception, is paramount.

Knowing that you had a comfortable stay with us gives us great pleasure, but we welcome the opportunity to extend our hospitality further when you visit us to experience the fine dining we now have to offer in our recently opened dining room. Overlooking the Market Square, you can dine in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and sample the wide-ranging menu we now have available. Alternatively, as winter is drawing near and the Main Lounge completes its re-fitment, a hearty meal around the fire may be more what you need. But whatever the weather, we shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Falcon soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Tried The Falcon for a family meal on Saturday lunchtime 18 august 2012, and was delighted with our choice.
The hotel is a fine beautifully cared for building, and the Dining area is so comfortable and spacious ( no squashing up of the tables).
The food as served lived up to the premises, being delicious and satisfying from an excellent choice menu, with realistic prices.
The staff were also top rate
All in all a great experience, and we cannot wait to repeat it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It is brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We are keen to stress that we also cater for non-residents and our dining facilities are open to everyone so it is fantastic to hear you came to visit for lunch. Our newly opened dining room overlooking the Market Square offers fine dining in a relaxed and comfortable manner – we do not believe in ‘squashing in’ tables to maximise covers as we want to optimise customers’ experiences with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Address: The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Uppingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 16th–century coaching inn is situated in the centre of the historical market town of Uppingham, just four miles from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of the natural splendours of Rutland. The hotel has a superb traditional terrace restaurant, a comfortable brasserie lounge, and a cosy bar offering traditional ales. With its unique market town location there is no better place to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or just a relaxing weekend. Our management and staff look forward to giving you a very warm Falcon welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Uppingham
The Falcon Hotel Uppingham, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.