We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishment is a Big Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uppingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falcon Hotel
Save
You added The Falcon Hotel to your Saves list
The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refurbishment is a Big Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Went for an evening meal arranged by some friends and was pleasantly surprised by the changes since my last visit. The recent refurbishment has dramatically improved the ambience of the hotel. We ate in the bar area because the main restaurant was not fully open but we were told it would be fully functional in the near future.
The food was of good quality and well presented. The service was competent and friendly and the manageress took the time to show us the restaurant and function rooms.
I would recommend it now and think it will continue to improve in the next few months.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you very much from all of the team at The Falcon for taking time to review us and such positive remarks, all feedback is very much appreciated and we look to constantly improve what we offer.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Torbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
37
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had lunch and the food was very good. The hotel is having a massive refurb but looks as though it will be lovely. I shall go and stay when it has been completed and update again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you very much from all of the team at The Falcon for taking time to review us and such positive remarks, all feedback is very much appreciated and we look to constantly improve what we offer.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Torbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fortunately had the opportunity to stay at this recently refurbished hotel in the quaint Rutland town of Uppingham. The refurbishment has tastefully transformed this old coaching hotel, providing high quality accommodation, the room was extremely comfortable especially the bed. Staff very helpful and friendly.

The restaurant had an extensive menu to suit all requirements and the food was excellent.

Would not heistate to recommend this hotel for a relaxing weekend break or a longer stay to visit the sights in this beautiful county

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel has been brought to life by a local business man who has the interests of the community and customer very much at heart. The refurbishment of this wonderful building has been done very well, the rooms are stunning (saw them at the open day) and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming, giving excellent customer service. I have eaten and drank here several times and have never been disappointed. I can also say that I have eaten and drank in the hotel before it was taken over and the difference is amazing.

I would very much recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room, have only had meals and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you very much from all of the team at The Falcon for taking time to review us and such positive remarks, all feedback is very much appreciated and we look to constantly improve what we offer.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Torbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here 17th sept for a wedding. The wedding dinner was really good, staff very helpful and polite. Room was clean and comfy. Breakfast excellant, really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you very much from all of the team at The Falcon for taking time to review us and such positive remarks, all feedback is very much appreciated and we look to constantly improve what we offer.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Torbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Perhaps this is not a fair review because I did not stay at the hotel, I have simply been round on an open day but what I can say is that the transformation of the place is stunning. We saw the old rooms and then the top floor renovations and the contrast could not have been starker: the old fashioned feel of swirling carpets, DFS style furniture and tired bathroom suites has gone, replaced by magificent new facilities like 'monsoon' showers, slick washbasins, gorgeous toile de jouy curtains and quality bed linen.

And the public rooms have had a makeover to match the style of the bedrooms. Sumptuous sofas and chairs in the lounges and there's a fabulous terrace area with covered tables looking out on to a very pretty garden. There is also, we noted, a stunning self contained one bedroom cottage - the Apple House.

I have no personal connection whatsoever with the Falcon but I am just glad that such an iconic building at the very heart of the attractive market town of Uppingham will surely once again become a focal point for locals and visitors alike. As a local I will not stay in the hotel but I will unhesitatingly recommend it to others and I will regularly be going there for morning coffee and occasional meals. This is a hotel owned by a local person, not some impersonal brewery or corporation, and thus it should be maintained with hands-on attention to detail. Forget what you might have read about the Falcon in the past. The future is looking very bright.

Room Tip: An updated top floor room with views over the Market Square
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestorbell, Manager at The Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you very much from all of the team at The Falcon for taking time to review us and such positive remarks, all feedback is very much appreciated and we look to constantly improve what we offer.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

James Torbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

stayed here recently for a family event in the town. we stayed here 2 years ago and it was a real disappointment, but i'm happy to say it has been bought from the brewary and now in private hands. the staff were lovely and really did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. we had lunch in the garden over the weekend and it is a beautiful setting now and the food was superb! though our room had not yet been renovated it was spotlessy clean and we even got peek at the rooms that were just being finished getting done up and all i can say is they are stunning! we will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Address: The Market Place, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Uppingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 16th–century coaching inn is situated in the centre of the historical market town of Uppingham, just four miles from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of the natural splendours of Rutland. The hotel has a superb traditional terrace restaurant, a comfortable brasserie lounge, and a cosy bar offering traditional ales. With its unique market town location there is no better place to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or just a relaxing weekend. Our management and staff look forward to giving you a very warm Falcon welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Uppingham
The Falcon Hotel Uppingham, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.