We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food, very welcoming, a little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 High Street East, Uppingham LE15 9PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, very welcoming, a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

Booked a 1 night bed and breakfast stay with inclusive 3 course dinner in their own restaurant.

Arriving on a cold grey wet winters day meant the courtyard looked uninviting and dreary however, I am assured by their website that during the warm bright summer months that a plethora of bedding plants and nicely welcoming outside seating areas brighten the place up to make it feel more inviting.

First impression when you get inside are fantastic, a very rustic, extremely smart and well presented bar area, a solid wooden bar with nice details and a quaint comfy seating area with the added attraction of a roaring open log fire to enjoy. The dining area in spacious, covers for about 30, in a bright inviting room which looks out onto the high street, dining at solid wooden tables, with nicely appointed details.

The staff were very courteous and made you feel welcome.

The menu was sublime, the meals were cooked to a very high standard, no wonder this restaurant has won awards for its food, its shows in the quality and the presentation, the Sea Bass was divine.

We stayed in one of the 2 cottages that are adjacent to the main building, just a few steps across the courtyard, which does afford you more privacy. The main door to the cottage opens up to a spacious hall area, nice wooden sideboard with welcoming decanter of port. A smaller 'lounge' area with large comfy 3 seater sofa and TV complete the room, ideal for chilling out.

Up a flight of wooden stairs to the bedroom which overlooks the courtyard. The bedroom itself is very nicely appointed, again, lovely solid wooden furniture but the only disappointment of the trip was the bed. The bed itself was comfy, however, being made out of solid wood it was designed with a footboard, and being 6ft 3'' tall I found it difficult to stretch out without having the need to curl up as I found it uncomfy to sleep with my ankles resting on the board at the base of the bed. The bathroom is beautifully appointed, large jacuzzi style bath with a separate glass fronted shower unit. The bath comes in for special praise, the hot-tub jacuzzi style jets and the fact that you can light it up with special underwater lights just adds to the classy effect.

Breakfast was very ample, produce bought from local suppliers.

Uppingham itself is small, very quaint, has a few quiet pubs and small independent shops to wonder round, but we based ourselves there purely for a walk round Rutland Water.

In summary, a very classy comfy establishment, food was excellent; it was just a lovely place to relax for the night. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The food, the relaxing environment, the open-fire, the service.
  • Disliked — Bed was uncomfy due to hard wooden foot-board (not sure if all rooms have this type of bed though)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    35
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
100
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

I spent one night here in the Dom Perignon suite. The room wasn't bad, but was a bit worn, and could have used a fresh coat of paint. The bathroom looked recently renovated. A new mattress would have been nice. Breakfast in the restaurant was very filling and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Stayed at Lake isle for 2 nights in one of the "cottages" with my extended family. Had a wonderful time, the bar and restaurant is extremely welcoming and you feel at home as soon as you enter. The food is top notch - we were a large group and between us, over 2 nights we worked our way through the whole menu and there was not a bad course. The wine list is strong without being over pricey and the staff are extremely knowledgeable about their wine with out being snobby and patronising.

The rooms were good, but in a large group somewhat of a mixed bag size wise. I stayed in a little cottage, which was snug and homely, but my sister in the next door cottage had a much larger cottage which had a very modern feel. Again in the main hotel some of the rooms were spacious with little treats like whirlpool baths, but others (Alsace in particular) were smaller and less equipped but never the less nice.

The whole hotel has a quality feel and its got some nice touches such as a decanters of sherry in the room, but the best thing by far and away are the people, they could do enough to help us and really made the difference.

Many thanks

  • Liked — Little touchs, and qualty finish
  • Disliked — trying to find the car par!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbys
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

The reception was very welcoming and the staff were all excellent. However, having booked a delux room at £100 B&B(room 9 ) we were expecting much more. The room was clean but there was paint missing from walls and the bed spread was thread bare. However, the worst thing was the constant banging in the wind all night from the bathroom extractor fan and bedroom sash window - a terrible night sleep!
The dining experience (both dinner and breakfast) went some way to make up for the disappointing room. The service, food and setting was outstanding. I feel that had we had have a different room our stay would have been perfect.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — the banging window/extractor fan!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

I stayed for two nights whilst in Uppingham for a family function. Our room was very small, but clean with a large bathroom. Nice touches in the room included homemade (delicious!) biscuits and sherry. We also had a great view across the hills. For the price per night of £75 we couldn't have asked for much more.

However, where the hotel falls down is in the restuarant. I cannot in any way criticise the food - it was very good, however the service was really stuffy and formal (you sit in the lounge for a drink whilst your order is taken) and the dining room itself had absolutely no atmosphere. We were there at Christmas and they had made some effort with decorations etc, but there was no background music and very few guests, so we were sitting in near silence. A little extra thought could remedy this - the radio was playing during the (delicious) breakfast the next morning, so why not play some classical music or something during dinner? When you are paying upwards of £25 per head for 2 courses without wine then I expect a little more. As it was we couldn't finish our meal quickly enough to get out to the pub for some signs of life!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here last week and were very impressed with the hotel as we were with Uppingham itself. We had a nice quiet well appointed room and a marvelous dinner that evening. Very good service with an excellent chef in the back preparing imaginative dishes. And all very reasonably priced. Breakfast as well was the same, toast when you wanted it with butter and preserves in dishes not peel off sachets, great coffee and local sausages from the next door butcher. All in all ab fab. We shall return.

  • Liked — caring family ownership
  • Disliked — sorry cant help you there.
  • Tips/Secrets — stay longer
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 16 High Street East, Uppingham LE15 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Uppingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uppingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Isle Hotel And Restaurant
Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant Uppingham, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.