We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn 1744

Save Saved
You added The Star Inn 1744 to your Saves list
The Star Inn 1744
The Star Inn 1744
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Star Inn 1744
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrussington B&B and Inns
1 review
“Such a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Star on Saturday 18th January with two friends after a trip to Ragdale Hall Spa. Booking was easy with prompt replies to my emails. The location is charming, on one side of the village green, and the pub looked so inviting when we pulled up. Inside, the bar has been beautifully refurbished and the atmosphere was welcoming. We were pointed in the direction of our rooms to drop our bags off and they were as lovely as the bar with lots of attention to detail. We went back down to the bar and settled down for a couple of glasses of wine. There were people having meals and others having a drink but we were able to get a table and get served quickly and everyone in the pub was good-natured. We heard no bad language and the regulars were friendly. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. We opted for the continental breakfast in the morning which was plentiful and tasty with particularly nice coffee. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly throughout and I would recommend staying at the Star to anyone. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mandy,

Thanks for writing this lovely review about your stay with us at The Star

We're very pleased that we offered a nice relaxing surrounding to follow your spa break and that our staff were attentive and you enjoyed our pub atmosphere

We hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited for a family party and were initially impressed by the smart surroundings, albeit without any open fires to warm the place up. We gathered for drinks before taking our table which was slightly too small for the size of the party, which meant one guest spent their whole time balancing their meal across the join in two tables. We ordered starters, main meals and deserts plus coffee from the young but pleasant and enthusiastic waiting staff.

The starters duly arrived and immediately appeared to suffer from a lack of thought. A good portion of pâté was served with half a slice of toast which seemed very mean at the least. The Stilton and broccoli soup (complete with lumps of melting Stilton which, whilst tasty, wasn't a great texture) was served with soft bread and rock hard butter. All our party thought the portions were on the tight side and could have been better thought out.

The mains then arrived and consisted primarily of "Sunday Roasts". The beef was excellent as was the pork, but the herb crusted lamb was entirely forgettable and tasteless. The crumb merely hid the fact that the lamb was a manufactured roll rather than a joint and tasted completely of nothing. All the Roasts were served with a good portion of vegetables and roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings (although the puddings were very flat - chef please note).

The vegetarian option (butternut squash risotto served with goat's cheese) was tasty but was way too rich and extremely heavy. The recipe needs to be rethought to reduce the density because we weren't sure whether to eat it or hang wallpaper with it!

Deserts were mainly traditional fayre but retained the rather odd character of the starters. The Lemon and Lime Cheesecake didn't arrive looking either green or yellow, but instead was served with a (partly frozen) strawberry and a blob of red coulis that looked more like the chef has cut himself. The cheesecake was tasty, it just looked very out of character with the name it was given. The crumble also suffered from from a similar problem. Billed as an "Apple Crumble with Fresh Custard", what arrived was a Blackberry Crumble with the very occasional and minute piece of apple. The fresh custard was actually a pretty runny Creme Anglaise; both very tasty but not what we expected from the menu. The cheese board on the other hand was hugely generous and enough for two to share.

Finally came the coffees and probably the low point of the meal. We ordered "coffee" but got served with espresso-based Americanos served in pretty small cups with tiny quantities of milk as an accompaniment. So we got incredibly strong coffee with neither the milk nor the space to get it down to a reasonable strength. The cups were too small for an Americano, so should have either been served in larger cups or filter coffee served unless an espresso-based coffee was specifically ordered.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and found the service to be good and the staff to be very friendly, but we couldn't get over the occasional weirdness with the menu and food. Bearing in mind the size of the party, this wasn't the occasional person being picky, but a general sense that we all got that things were not quite right. We would probably return, but would definitely ask more questions before ordering.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited the Star on Saturday 4 Jan. our first time since the refurbishment, This has been well done in keeping with such an historic building, the Bar area is a little small, after ordering a drink in the bar we moved to the restaurant, our table for 2 was immaculately presented with proper linen Napkins, Menus were delivered and our order promptly taken, Whilst waiting for our food we were entertained by a delightful family with a 3/4 year old boy who was clearly enjoying the outing. The food was perfectly cooked, well presented and the service flawless, we both had Cooked Brie starters, with one Steak and one Glamorgan sausage Main course. The bill was for £64 which included 3 large glasses of Pinot 2 beers and a coffee. Not the cheapest pub / Restaurant in the area but one of the nicest. The Star is now high on our list of local eateries. Paul & Christine Reynolds.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Paul & Christine,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and that we'll e seeing you again. I have passed your comments onto all our staff.

Thanks again,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Locals' pub in a wealthy village. Not welcoming to outsiders. Bar always blocked by regulars who like to sit and have a chat. Very hard to find a gap to get served. Drunken, foul language a constant background. Patronised principally by monied people, lacking class. Keep trying this place as it's in a nice location and should be quite pleasant. It isn't, so I'm finished with it - not worth the drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear TakosAtenpercentoyou,

Regarding your recent review of the Star Inn

As you might imagine Christmas Eve tuned out to be one of our busiest nights of the year, it is also one of only a few nights we do not open our Restaurant, instead we provide a 'free buffet' for Regulars & Locals or Anyone who chooses to join us, incidentally 'much as yourself' the great majority of our customers come from outside of the Village.

However as with many Village Inns part of the character is that they attract a colourful cross section of people and if you don't like the atmosphere in the Bar you will be aware that our Restaurant is separate with some quiet tables where we provide a full waitress service.

Of course we don't condone bad language but do accept we can have a Lively Bar with 'what I would describe as a Vibrant atmosphere' such is the nature of the Star Inn.

We genuinely try our best to make everyone welcome but you either like us, or you don't! fortunately most people do.

I would conclude by saying from my experience (monied or not) we have some of the most interesting and genuine customers it has been my pleasure to meet.

The Owner
The Star Inn- Thrussington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Heard very good reports from friends, so looked it up on internet - took email address and sent message asking about making booking for approx 10 people in a month's time. After one week no reply - so gave them a phone call and they said didn't receive message. So made booking verbally and person on phone suggested we go into Green Room which seats upto 12 people. Thought this a good idea so went with it and also booked bedroom for 2 of our party.
We arrived on the night and my friend said they did not know about his room but ended up ok as they were not full. Then when all our party arrived we asked if ok to go into Green Room - they said they had set us up in main restaurant. It toll them 10 mins to change us to Green Room. Up to now - not very impressed with their organisational prowess. Fortunately things improved greatly - the food and service were first class and it ended up being an excellent evening.
I would definitely recommend the Star but ring for booking and get them to confirm details.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear DaveRicho52,

Thank you for your review

Apologies for the confusion with the reservation. We have now implemented a new booking system so this sort of issue does not arise again.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your evening and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards,
Nicole Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed overnight at the beginning of September - well appointed room with comfortable bed and free toiletries. All the staff were very friendlly and efficient, and our evening meal was very tasty and well presented at a reasonable price. Wine was also good value for money. Despite sleeping in a room right over the bar/restaurant, there was no noise whatsoever. Continental breakfast was included in the price - excellent chocolate croissants! Would recommend this inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi D0des10,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Star

So pleased you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and hospitality.

We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited this pub with my boyfriend and we had an enjoyable evening!!

This place is decorated nicely and is clean- it has a bit of class.

The food was good- not the best I have ever had in local pub/restaurants but still tasty and enjoyable.

If you like visiting different pubs to sample the drinks or enjoy a meal, I would recommend putting this one on to your list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Pinkdunn,

Thanks for taking the time to review us here at The Star and for the recommendation to others!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kind regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star Inn 1744? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrussington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn 1744, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.