We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn 1744

The Star Inn 1744
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Star Inn 1744 to your Saves list
The Star Inn 1744
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrussington B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went to the bar to say we had a room booked, the person who saw to us didnt ask for our name just walked ahead of us up the stairs, let us in our room, asked if we wanted an out of hours door key, we said yes, so he said he'd come back with one and left. He never came back. We received no information, what time and where breakfast was served, restaurant hours, bar hours, check out time etc. I went downstairs later on where he was busying himself behind the bar to get the key. Next morning the same man was there at breakfast, loudly talking to his friend in the next room on the phone.. Also all the breakfast items were still wrapped up in the Asda brand packaging...??
Turns out the manager was on holiday apparently?. I dont usually complain about staff, but this time I was just not particularly happy paying that price for a room that was far too hot (I understand the age of the building may restrict installation of A/C but a fan wouldnt hurt), and for no level of service at all. Especially as it was a special treat to celebrate a special occasion for my partner and myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion.

The Star Inn is a Country Inn and we believe we offer exceptional value for the standard of accommodation provided (4star). We are not a full service Hotel with a 24hour reception and service but we feel our prices are fair and reflective of the quality of accommodation we provide.

Having discussed your specific comments with the staff we feel we should point out that a comprehensive information folder is provided in all of our Bedrooms clearly stating the information you required.
This folder also contains details of our menu, dining times, local attractions and history of the area.
We agree it is unfortunate that you were not aware this and we now ensure this is pointed out to all guests.

As with most similar aged properties, it is very unusual to have Air Conditioning, however we have recently installed AC into the room which has been reported to us as being very hot however we are unable to install in all rooms. We have taken on your comments and fans are now available in all of the other rooms.

I hope that this response deals with your comments and we do hope that you will return to The Star Inn 1744 again in the future.

Kind regards

Regards
Nicole Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We travelled from Australia for my son's wedding celebration and stayed at the Star Inn as it was only 20minutes away. When we arrived home (around 1am) we found the place locked. There was no after hours access and the number on the front door was not answered. There was nothing said when we booked in to indicate that "oh the place is locked when the bar closed". (there was also nothing in the book of rules and regulations) The temperature was 2 degrees and it was raining. We eventually found another room to stay in at around 3.30am. Also if you have children they are not welcome down stairs after 8pm, so if you wish to stay there and have children you need to stay in your room, because if you go anywhere else you will get locked out. There should be an emergency number to ring so that they do not lock out their paying guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi,
We appreciate all customer feedback as it enables us to improve.
We do not lock our guests out of the Inn as a rule as we advise guests that a front door key is available if they are returning late or after the Bar is closed. This is something we make clear when our guests check in. However, in this instance there has been an error and we are deeply apologetic for this.
Following this extremely unfortunate incident we have reviewed and changed our procedures to ensure this cannot and will not happen again.
We offer our sincere apologies and would like to offer you a complimentary 'Two Night' stay including Evening Meals (or equivalent value in food and drink), valid for one year from your recent visit. As we understand you live abroad we would be pleased to pass this offer on to your Son and Daughter in law.
Regarding the comment about Children:-
Children are always welcome at the Star Inn, the only restriction we have relates to a licensing requirement which restricts young Children in the Bar after 8.00pm this excludes Hotel Residents and Diners.
I hope this clarifies the situation.
Regards
Nicole Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Arrived at this hotel quite by accident while visiting a school nearby. Found everything to my satisfaction, beautiful & comfortable rooms. Cosy friendly bar in the evening. Breakfast a little basic but I wasn't looking for much.
A positive experience, I would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Star Inn 1744. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I organised a weekend away for my girlfriend's birthday, including a spa day at Ragdale Hall. As they couldn't guarantee availability of rooms at the spa I booked a night at the Star 1744 in Thrussington and I'm very glad that I did. Recently refurbished, our small, but cosy, room was finished to an excellent standard, with a fantastic bed and a good sized en-suite. It is clear that no expense has been spared with the fixtures and fittings. Being a Saturday night the bar was relatively busy, so there was a good atmosphere. Our food was great and service was relatively quick considering there were some large parties in the restaurant. It's worth noting that we couldn't hear any noise from the bar from our room. I read the earlier reviews where people had problems with management - all I can say is that we have nothing but praise for the staff we encountered and would definitely be back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Star Inn 1744. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed. The junior staff were very helpful. However senior management border on the outright rude and are unhelpful. Could not even provide bar snacks when requested for a party that had booked out all their rooms.
Breakfast expensive, rooms at this price and two poached eggs for seven quid?

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We thank you for your comments and we greatly value customer feedback and always consider all points raised

It was great to hear the fantastic comments about our Bedrooms and some of our Staff:-

"Rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed, the Junior Staff were very helpful"

We were obviously disappointed re the comment on our Senior Staff as there was no intention to be rude or unhelpful but it is correct we could not provide a quick ‘Bar Snack’ service as requested on this occasion but did advise we could provide this later that evening, the difficulty was that this request came in at our busiest time on Saturday evening when our Restaurant was inundated with orders, as we only had one Chef on duty our priority had to be with our Dining Room Guests who had pre booked their Dining reservations.

However in future we will be offering an alternative Snack service for our Hotel Guests.

Re Breakfast, we do include a Continental Breakfast within our very competitive room rate, our Full English Breakfast is an extra £7.00 and this is also great value, but we agree it does seem expensive if only two poached eggs are ordered from this selection.

We do hope that you will return to 'The Star Inn' in the future as without a doubt we do offer the very best '4 Star Inn' accommodation in the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Nicole Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a local wedding, and after initially being incredibly impressed by the rooms felt the service let it down.

Rooms are incredible - really comfortable bed, huge bath and great shower, very clean and better than some 5* hotels we've stayed in. We did need to ask for an iron (apparently it should have been in our room) and fresh batteries for the TV remote but this was quickly dealt with. The rooms were very hot, even after we turned the heaters down, and as a result a lighter summer duvet might have been better (normally I get cold at night so this was a surprise).

On the first morning we had the continental breakfast which had a good range of cereals, toast, pastries and really delicious locally made yogurt. The second morning we were less impressed - one of us had the fried breakfast, good except perhaps for the (seemingly) tinned tomatoes. I wasn't that hungry so asked for soft boiled eggs. This wasn't possible (no egg cups!) but I was offered poached eggs instead which I was happy with, and ate with toast made myself from the self serve area. I wasn't offered a hot drink on the second morning, and couldn't catch the bar man's attention when I went up to ask for some, but on the whole everything tasted nice. Unfortunately being charged £6.95 for 2 poached eggs (toast was included with continental breakfast in room price) DID leave a bad taste in my mouth, especially when the full fry up was only 5p more.

Service at first was good, but went down hill when the wedding party (5 rooms were booked out by our party on the wedding night) used the space we'd reserved for the Saturday night. We were reserved the option of ordering food at 8pm, and the groom was complained at because there was 6-8 people more than expected (we were still in a self contained room) - as it's a restaurant we wouldn't have expected problems, especially as a few plates of chips would have gone down well. Instead of spending another couple of hours contributing to bar sales we left and had an enjoyable evening at private residence.

On the whole rooms are great, but service went down as soon as staff had to tend to more than 4 people at once. It's a shame, but I can't sing the praises of any establishment that actually turns away custom, especially on a special occasion, but is money hungry enough to charge nearly £7 for two poached eggs!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Our Guest comments give us valuable feedback and it was great to hear the fantastic comments about our Bedrooms and some of our Staff:-

"Rooms are stunning and excellent quality, clean and well appointed, the Junior Staff were very helpful"

We were obviously disappointed re the comment on our Senior Staff as there was no intention to be rude or unhelpful but it is correct we could not provide a quick ‘Bar Snack’ service as requested on this occasion but did advise we could provide this later that evening, the difficulty was that this request came in at our busiest time on Saturday evening when our Restaurant was inundated with orders, as we only had one Chef on duty our priority had to be with our Dining Room Guests who had pre booked their Dining reservations.

However in future we will be offering an alternative Snack service for our Hotel Guests.

Re Breakfast, we do include a Continental Breakfast within our very competitive room rate, our Full English Breakfast is an extra £7.00 and this is also great value, but we agree it does seem expensive if only two poached eggs are ordered from this selection.

We do hope that you will return to 'The Star Inn' in the future as without a doubt we do offer the very best '4 Star Inn' accommodation in the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Nicole Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star Inn 1744? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrussington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn 1744, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.