We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of India

Out of India
Shepshed, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Shepshed
Price range: $15 - $23
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been customers of Out of India since it first opened and have visited many times. The service is very efficient and can be a bit abrupt at times but not in a bad way. The food is excellent with a great range of dishes using quality ingredients and very well cooked. When friends have eaten there with us they have been similarly impressed. Prices very good for food of this standard. Definitely five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Take away meal was awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and the food has been good. We have not particularly enjoyed the experience, particularly when they are busy, as the waiters tend to shout and it's a bit too hectic. Not the place for a relaxing night! However, we had a take away from the restaurant last week and it was awful. There were several main meals in the order and to be honest they all looked the same apart from the meat in them. They all tasted insipid and as if the meat or prawns had just been dropped into the sauce. This place is quite expensive and we were all very disappointed. I know a lot of people like this restaurant but for us there are a lot better locally to choose from and if you want a great take away try Poppadoms, the food is amazing and costs less too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I live in the Shepshed near to this restaurant and have eaten here several times and had take-away many more times. The service by the staff, either in person, or on the phone is always good.

The restaurant can be full at weekends, so it is advisable to book. Telephoned in take-away orders receive a discount, so consider this if you are in the area.

There are some usual dishes on the menu (the curry with a citrus kick is lovely).

Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Valentines Special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food. Great service. Great night out. Ordered King Prawn Karahi, Chicken tikka pathia, onion fried rice, aloo gobi and a couple of chapatis. Bottle of pinot grigio, and a couple of pints of cobra to kick off the evening. Bill came to £60. Result. Wont be long till we go back !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A high quality restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can only describe this as a high quality restaurant. The food is served promptly and is extremely good in all respects. The outstanding quality of this restaurant is undoubtedly the service. The staff are absolutely fantastic and if you don't like over-attentive don't go ! There is even a member of staff waiting to hold the door open when you leave. The food (most important part!) is as good as anywhere else that I have dined. Value for money ? - £76 for 4 - 2 drinks each, no dessert - you decide !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of India also viewed

Shepshed, Leicestershire
Shepshed, Leicestershire
 
Shepshed, Leicestershire
Shepshed, Leicestershire
 

Been to Out of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.