We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragdale Hall Health Hydro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melton Mowbray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragdale Hall Health Hydro
Save
You added Ragdale Hall Health Hydro to your Saves list
Ragdale Village, Melton Mowbray LE14 3PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The title says it all - our visit to Ragdale was pure bliss. I went on a three night break with my sister and a friend - both my sister and myself have been before but our friend hadn't and it far exceeded her expectations. Many changes since we last visited all for the better. My sister was unwell and the staff were very helpful with the duty manager checking on her welfare. Could not fault our stay - exceptional staff - will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    127
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
129
150
68
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

An expensive treat, calm, relaxing and delightful. I've been here 3.times as a singleton visitor and for a couples short break. My most recent visit saddened me, the commercial side has overtaken their original uniqueness. There were areas that needed a jolly good clean and some fixing and staff who needed to be aware of customers who could overhear their gossiping. I encourage the management team to review their values and go back to where they began. Fix the broken equ, clean the area up and install into some of your team the professionalism they all once had. I was very sad after my last visit, I usually enjoy ragdale but now feel that the same experience can be had at a smidgen of the price elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just back from a quick 'Overnight Reviver Break' at Ragdale Hall & have to say it's certainly done the job!

It's all been said before so I'll keep it brief, the facilities are first class & I found the staff to be fantastic as a whole. The Thermal spa is amazing with all the various little rooms to try out although they did seem to take a while to heat up! The gym could use some better equipment but I can forgive them this as the rest is so good. Had a fantastic massage & very much appreciated the 'Retreat' for a bit of an early evening doze...!

In terms of food we found the breakfast to be a tad disappointing. Yes it's lovely having brekky in bed but I would have much preferred more options in the dining room. Lunch was very good though, as was dinner and although it is generally quite healthy, I certainly didn't go hungry.

The biggest problem for me however was the wine list, or lack of one should I say.... As someone who works in the wine trade I understand the various pressures & influences that drive a wine list. This was completely uninspiring though, so much so that I avoided it & just ordered a beer. I would have quite happily paid £30-40 for an interesting, well thought-out wine but aside from the standard French options there was nothing there. The choices of wine by the glass also left a bit to be desired & would have thought this would be a key part of their business bearing in mind the kind of clientele they are attracting. Definitely needs work...!

Whilst I do think it's somewhat overpriced it's still the best Spa out there & we will certainly be back. Indeed I can see this being at least an annual experience for many years to come!

Room Tip: We had a Standard Plus room, no. 81. It was a tad cold so worth putting the heating on as soon as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at Ragdale and it was just perfect. It is a place where you can do as little or as much as you like. I travel a long way to visit because I always know that once I arrive it is going to be a throughly relaxing and pleasurable experience. The level of service is admirable. The food is varied and delicious. The facilities are constantly being modernised. First class all round.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic first stay at this beautiful spa hotel. Lived up to all we had heard about it - very friendly, approachable staff, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the Lodge where we had a superior room for a standard room price - lovely and quiet, with breakfast delivered to your room. Beauty treatments were fab, no hard sell on products, food fantastic and plentiful and nothing not allowed. Fun classes, lovely pool, interesting activities in the evenings - beauty demo, fashion show, chef cookery demo. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Would recommend lodge if you are happy to walk short way to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I absolutely love Ragdale Hall. Have been going there for 3 years now. Twice a year. I always go on my own. Was nervous the first time but the staff and everyone are so amazing you don't feel on your own at all. They are attentive and always there to please. Nothing is too much. I always leave with a heavy heart because I just want to stay longer. I now stay 4 nights at a time because I can't bear to leave after 2 days. Amazing place and will keep on going back. Thank you Ragdale.

Room Tip: I stay in a superior single room and they have all been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I go to Ragdale at least once a year. We stay here in October every year with my best friend.
Last year we stayed in the lodge which was lovely. It's a separate detached house just as you enter the hall which has 4 independent rooms. Quite nice if you want to be secluded, and would be nice if you were staying as a couple. The decor in the lodge is perfect. All individually decorated.

When staying in the hall, we stay in the premium rooms. Good decor, dual sinks, more than enough space typical 4 star accomodation I would say. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning and lunch is scheduled in for you around your treatments. Very good selection for lunch, so you can have a little of everything, hot or cold. Dinner is usually a set menu, but all healthy. Wine is available if you want to buy it.

The aerobic or yoga classes are great. You do loose some of the time in the class as they have to keep explaining the pace to everyone in case they are beginners. Gym has all lovely modern equipment. There also organise regular walks in the grounds.

The grounds are wonderful, ponds with coy carp and acres of green lush fields.

Treatments are very average unless you get a senior therapist. Because we have massages regularly, the ones here seem inadequate.

Facilities are first class. There are about 5 different steam rooms, a candle pool, hyro pool, lovely grounds if you go in the summer, they've got loungers out for you to relax in. Everyone is either in gym gear or a bathrobe. Going down to dinner is nice to do in smart clothing, although you do see the odd person in their bathrobe.

If you want a relaxing spa break with a friend, or your hubby, I would highly recommend this place. I think it is more suited to girls in a group, or even if you are on your own. I've been here on my own before, and still had a good time.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are ok, you do get better ambience with Premium rooms or the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ragdale Hall Health Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragdale Hall Health Hydro

Address: Ragdale Village, Melton Mowbray LE14 3PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragdale Hall, located in the rolling Leicestershire countryside, combines state-of-the-art facilities with the charm of traditional Victorian architecture to create one of the most luxurious and relaxing health spas in the country. Whether you are looking for total relaxation, me-time and pampering or to kick-start a healthier lifestyle, Ragdale Hall is the perfect choice. Our great selection of spa days and spa breaks include something for everyone, so if you're seeking a romantic getaway, a day out with girlfriends or some time-out with your nearest and dearest, Ragdale Hall really is the spa to visit. With an unrivalled range of spa treatments to suit every need. Ragdale Hall has won a steady stream of awards over the last ten years, many of which have been voted for by previous guests and readers of leading publications. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragdale Hall Health Hydro Hotel Melton Mowbray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragdale Hall Health Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.