We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Having passed this hotel a million times, I'd never thought about lunch, coffee and cake or anything else my colleague from Cheshire booked it and I'm so glad he did! Super lunch, friendly staff, interesting history...afternoon tea coming soon! I'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    61
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
37
84
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here at a special discount rate. The room was small, but adequate with a comfortable bed. The bathroom like the room was small but well equipped with shower/shampoo gel etc. The shower was a bit difficult to get the temperature right. The hotel front onto the road looks nothing special but when you get round to the back of the hotel you can see what a lovely setting it has. The gardens are truly beautiful and there are superb views over rolling countryside. The decor is a bit tired in places such as the corridors. The breakfast was really lovely - cooked to order rather than left on hot plates like most places do these days. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at the Sysonby Knoll Hotel prior to a meeting in Melton Mowbray the following day and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

Firstly, there was a very warm welcome. I was shown to my lovely room and began to unpack. Everything was at hand, worked as it should, was clean and tidy, well maintained and comfortable (even though I was grouchy due to a bad cold).

I went down to the bar for a beer (which was local, hand pulled and excellent quality) and eventually went into the dining room for dinner. The cold hadn't blown away my appetite, but I was full after two excellent courses of high quality food, cooked very well with top notch ingredients. Hugely tasty.

I returned to my room, watched a little TV and, after a coffee, crashed out in a comfortable bed. I had a poor nights sleep but that was mainly due to my cold. The room didn't feel that warm, but maybe that's because I had the chills.

Breakfast was a swift and enjoyable affair with a good range of cold buffet materials and a cooked offering which was brought to you from the kitchen, as I like. I can't stand the warm food under sunlamps!! The tea was piping hot and excellent.

Check out was brisk and efficient. I enjoyed my stay. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and make your stay comfortable. They were friendly, charming, efficient and polite.

This hotel looks a little like a motel from the outside (from the road) and I was worried that their offerings wouldn't stand up to my expectations. However, it was quite the opposite. Many grand looking hotels wouldn't come up to the mark of Sysonby Knoll Hotel and could learn from them.

A really good stay. Well done staff and management. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked Sysonby Knoll after finding it on the internet. We booked for three nights for our honeymoon and we were very pleased that we did. The photo's do not do the hotel justice, it's picture perfect lovely.
We stayed in a four poster room and I cannot recommend staying there enough. The room was more than adequate for our stay with our baby and the bathroom was amazing. The room and hotel were very, very clean and I could not find fault anywhere! (Believe me I looked!)
Although some people have complained about the breakfast, I thought breakfast was lovely. As well as having a full cooked breakfast, they also offer yoghurt, croissants and fruit. The staff at breakfast were always happy and chatty.
The food at Sysonby Knoll made me put on at least half a stone - there is always a very good choice at dinner and my husband and I were always very happy with our food. I liked the fact that if you didn't want to go down to eat, they offered dinner bought up to you. Our baby was unwell one night and having that option was a godsend otherwise we'd have been downstairs eating separately whilst the other stayed upstairs.
Despite visiting them at the busiest time of year (Christmas), the staff still had time to chat to us and made us feel very welcome. The staff could do not enough to help if you asked a question and I would have no hesitation in going back or recommending it to anyone else.

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are more expensive than the doubles, but are very worth it! It was on my bucke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed on a Saturday evening as we were off to a 50th party in Melton. Forget the main hotel photo as this is not representative of the reality. Essentially the hotel consists of a period property, extended over time to create a large square on two floors with a courtyard area in the centre.

Certainly the hotel appeared clean and well maintained on arrival. However, it took two very loud rings on the reception bell before the lady came from behind the bar to check us in. A similar situation arose when we tried to check out. We ultimately had to return to the breakfast room and pop our head in the kitchen to get someone's attention. Accepting that cost control through staffing is important for this independent family owned hotel, promptness of service or a simple apology or acknowledgment for being kept waiting wouldn't go amiss.

The room (a standard double) was adequate, nicely warmed, clean and well presented. Whilst ok for one night, I wouldn't want to spend more than a couple of nights in a space that I suspect could begin to feel quite claustrophobic.

Breakfast was a disappointment. 1 3" sausage, 2 rashers of dry undercooked bacon, 1 egg, a 'mini' ramekin of beans, a half cooked hash brown and half a raw, firm and distinctly fusty tasting tomato (we both took one bite, winced and left it!). A real disappointment given the price tag

Overall, this is probably the best hotel option of 3 or 4 in Melton on a 'reasonable' budget. However, £100 per night is most definitely overpriced. Standard room rate should, I believe, be no more than £70, with opportunity for cheaper deals at weekend. The car park was near empty and I suspect that occupancy levels could be significantly improved if the weekend rates were made more attractive. (2 1/2 out of 5)

Room Tip: Anyone with accessibility issues should request a room close to reception. Our room was a hike thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked four rooms on a DBB basis at Sysonby Knoll for a family birthday celebration. The package was good value, the rooms comfortable (the four-poster Room 2 particularly spacious) and the food very good. What marked the hotel our for us was the excellent service. All the staff were friendly and helpful and dealt with our requests promptly and courteously. It's true that some of the decor is a little tired and the showers lacked power but overall we were more than happy with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and has a view across fields to the river. We enjoyed the views of spectacular su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great place, stopped here to go to a friends party in Melton. We stopped in room 5, four poster. Spotless room, spotless place. Very comfy bed.

Breakfast was excellent (I think it was all local produce). Staff too were very friendly and helpful. Nice grounds and early morning winter views. See picture from our room.

Very lovely well kept family run place. Bar, conference/function facilities etc.

Would recommend for business or pleasure.

Put average for fitness center and pool, as didn't use them or not sure if they have them and didn't in any way want to rate anything as poor. Great place.

Room Tip: Room 5 we stopped in was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel

Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.