We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grange Country House to your Saves list
Grange Country House
New Road | Burton Lazars, Melton Mowbray LE14 2UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Melton Mowbray B&B and Inns
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I think the website gives a false impression of this slightly uninspiring but very convenient guest house. We stayed for two nights while attending the British Birdwatching fair at Rutland Water and it was an ideal base.
The minimalist name plate over the door makes it a little tricky to find and after 10 minutes ringing the bell we opened the door to the gardens and received a frosty welcome from the owners for our audacity!
The rooms with the garden views would be much preferable to our roadside one. Breakfast was basic - no cheese or cold meats, just cereal, toast and yogurt. I love the convenience of making your own breakfast but it did mean we had no contact with the management after our arrival and no socialising with other guests. It felt like Disney's Beauty and the Beast, food kept magically appearing but we never saw a friendly face - there was even a large oval mirror in our room ...
For anyone travelling through and needing an early departure, I would highly recommend The Grange but if you want a little luxury and pampering, look again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of 4 plus a family friend occupied 3 rooms for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. The Grange is old fashioned in it's furnishings and decor but not unpleasant. The room was clean, the bedding and towels smelled lovely and fresh. The breakfast items provided were adequate and, generally, we felt it constituted good value for money. We did find some aspects of the place frustrating though. Firstly, the wi-fi was very unreliable ( if it worked at all). Secondly, the water pressure in the showers was poor making it difficult to properly wash and rinse long hair. As our reason for staying was the Grange's proximity to the wedding venue, it was fine for us. If it had been a holiday break, I think we'd have been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A pleasure to stay here, friendly hosts with lovely peaceful surroundings.
The room was tastefully decorated in traditional style with the added bonus of self catering facilities. Normally that wouldn't bother us but being at the BIrdfair nearby all day meant we just used the microwave for convenience without having to go out again. ( Main meal, side and dessert with bottle of wine for £10, without advertising you probably know the deal)
It was great to be able to get our own breakfast when we wanted without having to book up a time as in conventional B and B's.
There was plenty to eat, a selection of cereals, fruit juice, pan de chocolat, bread to toast, yogurts and tea /coffee
As there was a fridge we were able to make some snacks to eat during the day which saved us a lot of money than buying at the Birdfair and also not having to get into long queues, a real bonus!!
Unfortunately we took the last room so we didn't have a garden view which would have been nice. We did however visit the garden on several occassions, a very calming place with glorious views over the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the garden if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a family wedding and upon arrival our car developed a problem which meant we would have been unable to get to the church. The manageress and her husband went out of their way to make sure that we got to the ceremony in time. They couldn't have been more helpful. What lovely people! The room was great and the bed comfortable. Liked having breakfast in our room, choice of cereals, yoghurt, toast, juice and pain au chocolate. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and milk provided. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group for 1 night and found the b&b to be very traditional but great value and comfortable. Breakfast is provided in your room in the form of toast, cereal and yogurt which you have to make yourself. There are hobs, microwave, fridge, kettle and a toaster provided in the room . I would recommend booking via telephone as you get the best deal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spent one night here to attend a wedding nearby. It is an unusual place - you feel like you have stepped back 100 years in time and are staying in a family home but this is essentially what the Grange is. My room was clean and comfortable with a smell of freshly laundered bedding, always reassuring. There was a mini kitchen area with all ingredients, crockery etc for a continental breakfast. There was a helpful list of local attractions and taxi numbers provided. £40 for a double room and breakfast is excellent value for money and I would definitely stay again should I be in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

this bed and breakfast in some areas disappointed such as breakfast, cleanliness/maintenance but excelled in areas; service and value for money.

The service provided by the manager is excellent, her customer service skills are the best I've observed for many years, however what is disappointing is that they do not provide a cooked breakfast.

Instead you get a choice of cereal in your room, and they provide a toaster in your room also so you can make toast too...

In my opinion they are letting themselves down by not providing a cooked English Breakfast.

Unfortunately I was housed in the room which had no view whatsoever so I missed out on any views instead I got a view of a gravel car park and the road.

the building and decoration also need attention.

Overall I wouldnt stay there again on the basis of cleanliness and no cooked breakfast.

make these changes and i will be straight back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Country House

Address: New Road | Burton Lazars, Melton Mowbray LE14 2UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.