We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melton Mowbray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stonepits Farm, Pickards Lane | Wycomb, Melton Mowbray LE14 4QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Melton Mowbray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Stonepits whilst looking around the area with a view to relocating to this region in the near future.
Accommodation was superb, great bedroom, lovely bathroom/shower with organic toiletries.
Enjoyed a wonderful Sunday roast of home reared Devon Ruby beef, Yorkshire Pudding + full works for a nominal sum. Breakfasts are as good as we have had in any top class hotels.
Lovely welcome of tea and home made cake on arrival back at Stonepits each evening.
Sue is a fantastic, warm and hospitable host who cannot do too much to make her guests welcome.
Fully endorse all the previous great reviews of Stonepits.

Eric & Ann, London

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marsing, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited Susan Wall at Stonepits Farm and what a surprise. The room was spacious and immaculate as was the bathrom. Best of all, Susan loves to cook and her breakfasts were to die for. She makes everything from scratch from bread to jam to granola.
It is located in a tiny village and is very quiet.
We had a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We'd seen the previous good reviews for Stonepits Farm B&B before we arrived so our expectations were high when we arrived for a 4 night stay. We were not disappointed, in fact our expectations were exceeded. Sue's warm and genuine welcome are supported by her relaxed, friendly and accommodating style which continued throughout our stay. The guest accommodation is immaculately clean and our twin bedroom had everything we could possibly want - the superbly appointed ensuite shower-room being complete with more toiletries than we have at home! Our breakfast was absolutely excellent with fresh fruit and a wide choice of home-made jams available. We dined-in on 2 evenings and found the standard to be easily top range restaurant level, if not better. If you are visiting the area give Sue a call before you try anywhere else - we're sure that, like us, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Downstairs double room is slightly larger than upstairs twin room, (which is spacious anyway), but u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Read the reviews on Tripadvisor and although I dont do B &B this sounded too good to miss- It is!! Sue has thought of everything and more than you can possibly want. Opening each cupboard and drawer just reveals another surprise after another- from local organic skin cleanser, sahmpoo and conditioner, cotton buds to shower caps, bath robes, ironing board, sewing kit, notepaper, pens, staples, sellotape, a library of books and magazines in your room, lovely water, a selection of teas, home made chocolate oat biscuits, a fresh cup cake, fresh milk, lovely comfortable beds with proper sheets and blankets, towels so thick you can hardly bend them...the good news just goes on!

Free wifi, really quiet location and comfortable beds meant a good nights sleep.

Downstairs there is a microwave, fridge large TV, DVD player, games, books and homemade fruit cake....its simply beyond good!

Breakfast is freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad and home reared full english ( choice of duck or hens eggs!!). Other choices are available- its all superb!

As one other reviewer said, this is THE B&B that sets the standard. Brilliant Sue- Simply Brilliant!

Now just have to think of an excuse to come back and book one of your dinners! :-)

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs which has two single beds. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have stayed at many B & B's over the years and have never found one like this. Looking back through the previous comments I am not sure what more I can add. For attention to detail and comfort this is more akin to a small Boutique Hotel. I was there for a week while on an archaeology training dig with Leicester University and felt completely at home, the food was great and nothing was too much trouble for Sue. For once I am truly lost for words....just read some of the previous comments for a more complete description. Don't miss out on Stonepits Farm it's wonderful! Thanks again Sue for a great week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break staying at Stonepits farm and what a fantastic break it was. The food was to die for, we was lucky enough to dine in one evening we was there and a 5star restuarant could not have done better. We had a cream tea on arrival and a cakewas in our room for afternoon tea the next day. As for the breakfasts, wonderful choice and I can thoroughly recommend the Tomatoes on Brushetta. The peace and tranquility that comes with this farm all adds to the experience of the farm. Sue the wonderful owner of this farm could not do enough for us and even took us to see the pigs and cows and lets us in on feeding time with the hens. There is nothing more you could ask for, if you forgot something, you could be 100% sure that it will be somewhere in your room, a real home from home. We will definately be back for many more visits, if you only visit one B&B in your life, Stonepits it has to be

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms.....beautifully furnished with every extra comfort you need , tea, coffee, biscuits, but then entering athe bathrooms and fantastic surprise ...extremely modern and trendy with huge showers and again great attention to detail ....

The food ...a large choice for breakfast all bio friendly and top quality ...their own bacon, fantastic smoked cod , their own duck/hen eggs, homemade jams and curds. Plus returning from our day/evening from a wedding at Stappleford Park we were left homemade fruit cake and tartlets.

All this set in a lovely well kept loved farm. And at an affordable price ....I am certain that any visitors will be impressed by the friendliness, the commitment and the ambience of this b&b

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stonepits Farm, Pickards Lane | Wycomb, Melton Mowbray LE14 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Melton Mowbray
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonepits Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.