We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Falcon Inn to your Saves list
Falcon Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   64 Main Street, Long Whatton LE12 5DG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 2 Long Whatton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When visiting my mother, we tend to go to The Falcon to eat.

We last ate there in June to celebrate my mother's birthday. On that occasion the food was much enjoyed. We returned on 15th September, and this time was no different, in fact, I would say that the quality of the food was even better. I had the Whitebait as a starter, followed by Sea Bass, couldn't fault it, and I am very particular. My partner had the Falafel followed by the Crab cakes, he was also pleased. My mother was also happy with her choice. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Falcon.

Jad's warm welcome, always makes you feel comfortable.

One last praise, the outside floral display is absolutely fantastic. Well done to whoever has " greenfingers"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Owner at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review,
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
27
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Oh my goodness, what an absolutely beautifuly appointed and outstanding Inn/Hotel/Restaurant !!!
We stayed there for just the one night on the 8th of September 2012, but, we felt as though we had been there for longer because of the hospitality that we recieved. The rooms are amazingly furnished set in a gorgeous courtyard, spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bed linen , and spotless en suite facilities too. Now, the food was out of this world and presented to us in the most lovliest way one could think, extremly tasty and very filling too. Smiles from every member of staff all along the way, they couldnt do enough for us. Ive never seen as many flowers outside of the Garden Centre, the colours were amazing !! The Inn owner was wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful, always smiling too... i will definately stay there again, and so should everyone visiting the area ..... 1000 Stars in my opinion... Thank you to all....

Room Tip: Every room was peaceful and tranquil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Owner at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and very helpful comment. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Each time I am visiting East Midlands this is my preferred place to stay. Not only the typical pub atmosphere (feels like the own living room being there) but also the friendly staff and the food'n drinks each time I am visit underline it is a good choice.

Of course, you must like this kind of hotel, sometimes when people ask me about the hotel I say "It's more a pub with some bedrooms than a hotel", and this summarizes it very good. When you're looking for some nice and authentic accomondation in the "center of universe" - go there. Jad (owner) is allways there to make your stay a pleasure and this drives the uniqueness of this place - it is a very personal service.

Summarized: food good, drinks good, atmosphere and ambiente great and rooms ok.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Proprietor at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for this! Glad you are happy here and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay at the inn and the review is based on the restaurant only. Meals were ordered and promptly came to the table, they arrived Luke warm, (that's all the meals we ordered) some of the food wasn't even cooked fully. By the time we got half way through our food it became apparent that all the heat had gone out of it. We informed someone of this and the reply was"ok sorry" . Great. I feel that the food there is very over priced and doesn't offer value for money compared to other Everads pubs. I dont understand how they can call the pub a traditional English pub, when 60% of the food menu is Lebonese! Even some English dishes are served in a strange way, also the decor is very dated and is in desperate need of a major refurb. Shabby just Not chic! Very disappointed in my visit and will not be trying this pub again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Proprietor at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Everards, thank goodness, do not inflict a set menu with centralised buying on their pubs - that's why every one is different. I originaaly hail from the Lebanon (there is, incidentally, no "o" in Lebanese) and am very proud to be able to offer that country's cusine as part of my menu (certainly not 60% of it). The mezze is one of the most popular options with customers and is one reason why the signs on both sides of the pub say in very large letters "International Cuisine" before you even enter the premises.
We have absolutely no intention of ever being "chic" - I leave that to the so-called gastro pubs and wine bars. We are exactly what we say, a country pub with no pretensions to anything else. The pub has been decorated both inside and out within the past 6 months, so that's how it's supposed to look!
Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Landlord Jad & team welcoming as usual when we stayed.. Food top notch too..
Shooting trip & sightseeing organised with enthusiasm .. Great day had by all of us..
Best flowers I've seen on a pub display..amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Proprietor at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post this and for your kind workds. Hope to see you soon.
Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My spouse and I are in the beautiful English countryside at least twice a month on business. Since we came upon the Falcon Inn and Jad's hospitality, we have never gone anywhere else. The accommodations are quaint and comfortable. We wake up to sheep grazing out our window. The food is delicious from the cook to order breakfast to the hearty dinners with sauces to make your mouth water. Being in the Pub during the holidays is a festive experience with dancing and spirits flowing. It truly is our home away from home!

Room Tip: They are all different and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Proprietor at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It is always such a pleasure to welcome you to the Falcon - thank you so much for the review and hope to see you soon!
Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Good food and service in very pleasant surrounds - olde worldy - outdoor/indoor settings. Petanque/boules set up in back garden. Lebanese flavour - 'Mesa' available on request. Should be real treat by Jad(owner). Will try on future visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOtaki, Proprietor at Falcon Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your visit, do try the mezze next time! Regards Jad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Address: 64 Main Street, Long Whatton LE12 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Long Whatton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Whatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Long Whatton
Falcon Inn Long Whatton, Leicestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.