We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed and service was bad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Green, Long Whatton LE12 5DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Whatton B&B and Inns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rushed and service was bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had our family 'Christmas' meal here yesterday. I booked it over a month ago because we thought the Christmas menu looked great. We were asked to fill out a pre order list for our meals and pay the deposit the following week. It took a lot to do this as family have not got access to the internet etc but the following week we went in as asked. After making a trip out to the pub we were told it wouldn't be a Christmas menu as on a Sunday and we don't need to pay a deposit. However the normal menu would have xmas elements... wasted journey and put out!!!!

When we arrived yesterday we were immediately told that we had to be out by a certain time. Some of the staff were rude and even looked at watches etc. We were made to feel generally unwelcome. The food itself was not great, especially the beef. And as for a Christmas element, non, just standard sunday lunch.

It is a shame I have had to write this as we have had a lovely evening meal previously, quite special. However I feel so angered and frustrated as we booked way in advance and have been nothing but messed around. What should have been a special occasion was made standard rushed pub grub.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    20
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
45
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a night in an amazing room, very well decorated and all mod cons. One of the best rooms I've stayed in for a long time!
We booked a table in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal, the staff were very helpful and made us feel really welcome. All the food is locally sourced and is of high quality.
Everything about this place is really good and will be staying there again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Make sure you don't go for last sitting on a sunday as you tend to be served poor quality meat. Was really disappointed with food again. That is twice now we have gone for the last sitting. Despite going lots of times before and having great food and all they could say is that they had no one complain before. Not great customer service!!! Would have thought they would have treated us better as we were regulars.

At least the dogs enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent room with modern decor and well stocked with coffee tea, bottle water in the fridge.
Separate from the pub so very quiet and parking outside your room.
10oz steak was fantastic and breakfast will be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here as a business guest for one night and can honestly say this is about as good a B&B as I've ever stayed in. We were given the choice of this B&B or the local Hilton, but The Royal Oak came up trumps. I regularly travel with work but rarely care to write a review, but the high quality of all aspects of The Royal Oak meant I felt compelled to write one.

The pub has plenty of character, very welcoming staff, an excellent choice of ales at the bar, a terrific selection of food from the menu (the creme brulee cheesecake was to die for, look at the website for the latest menu) and the rooms were beautifully and recently fitted out. An added bonus is that the rooms are located in a detached row away from the noise of the pub. They also come with free wifi and the comfiest of soft beds for a sound night’s sleep. Breakfast came at the high same standard and wide range of choice as experienced with the evening meal and there is no rationing on the breakfast portion sizes. Just plan in an evening at the gym after staying here to burn off those calories!

I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Mu husband and I went for an impromptu evening out to enjoy the "early doors" menu. There was a nice selection, for a really good price.

However, food didn't match descriptions entirely, and portions quite small. My biggest complaint was in their attempt to look "cheffy" they put the battered haddock on top of the pea purée, making the batter soggy and not pleasant.

We would have left thinking it was an OK meal for the price, especially with the discount menu, as my husband enjoyed the beer. That was until my husband visited the toilet...
A man in full chef whites and apron came out of a toilet cubicle, did NOT wash his hands and went straight in to the kitchen. YUK!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is our 3rd time over the last 18 months staying at the Royal Oak and have stayed in a different room each time but never disappointed. Our son is at Loughborough University and when visiting him want to enjoy our stay in the area too.

The staff are attentive and when we thought, due to severe traffice delays on the M1, that we may arrive late they were very helpful and being late was not a problem.

Great breakfast and choices available plus the weekend breakfast times means that you can have a lay in which after a week at work is always appreciated.

My disappointment is NOT in any way related to the hotel but the guests who at breakfast decide it is the correct time to complain....and about insignificant issues which if they had spoken with the staff beforehand could easily been resolved. I can only empathise with all in this industry when this occurs, it must be very frustrating.

Keep on doing what you are doing. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a large walk in shower suitable for those needing handrails and minimal steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: The Green, Long Whatton LE12 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Long Whatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Whatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Long Whatton
The Royal Oak Long Whatton, Leicestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.