We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something a bit different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conkers

Conkers
Rawdon Rd (B586) | Moira, Ashby de la Zouch DE12 6GA, England
01283 216633
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“something a bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

decided to visit as its quite local and we hadn't been or heard anything about it, there are two centres here, with a land train that runs in between them, however on our visit out of season, one centre was closed, we arrived at 3pm and didn't know what to expect so it didn't upset us that we were missing some of the attraction as we were on limited time.

the building we visited had a large computerised floor screen that changed when you walked on it, and some displays of environment ideas and inventions, there was also an indoor play area that was quite unusual, we also found a café inside where we had a drink, although it was cold we decided to have a go on the land train and it was quite enjoyable, we noticed there are cycle trails around the woodlands, be a nice summer trip out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    158
    112
    93
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! Loved every minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited Conkers during the week with our sons aged 5 and 10. We had such a great day. There is so much to do and so many activities on. The staff were so friendly. Every single one of them had a smile on their faces all the time! They could not do enough to help you despite the heat.
I can't wait to go back, we bought a membership as it's about the same cost as two visits for us.
We could have lost the children for hours in the indoor play area, they were so happy.
The food was nice too. Excellent value on the kids lunches although the adults sandwiches are a bit pricey but very nice. There are pleanty of spots for a picnic and they will stamp you hand if you need to go to the car.
I loved the barefoot walk but I think I will take a small towel for that next time. There is a train that takes you across to the other side of the park with the lovliest traindriver!
I cannot say enough how fab the staff were and what a beautiful place this is.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Conkers treat for the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Kids loved the train, play area and indoors. However we struggled to find a toilet that flushed and we noticed that the things which were broken and didn't work last year were still not fixed 12 months later. Very few of the food outlets were open despite lots of school children around.
The ice cream is overpriced and too big portions for small children.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Venue for entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Conkers for a Folk Festival. The amphitheater is an excellent. Venue, although if you go try to sit inside the canopy as the sound quality gets distorted outside! Also, take a cushion the seating is hard! Hat said the venue is very good for events. We saw entertainment for children in the form of a grain ride and adventure playground. Lots of walks linking to the national cycle route.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Day out with the kids - All 28 of them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Brilliant interactive day out with 28 children aged 11-12. They had a great time shelter building, having discussions with the knowledgeable staff about the local area fauna and flora and using the inside play areas. They enjoyed the steam train and the adventure park. Must admit I did get involved there too as it was great fun.
On the negative side, the cafe was not great and was a little expensive but this was not an issue as we took our own food and picnicked outside in the open air theatre.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conkers also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Conkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conkers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.