We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out for the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conkers

Conkers
Rawdon Rd (B586) | Moira, Ashby de la Zouch DE12 6GA, England
01283 216633
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good day out for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited conkers yesterday as a 25 year old and a 24 year old both going on 7.

Good Points: The place is great fun, the indoor climbing frame/activity centre for kids looked great and well maintained, lots of the exhibits were informative and interactive, the cafe was good value, the train was good fun and a nice way to go between the two sites. The Barefoot walk was great (but flipping cold in the water at this time of year!) the outdoor activities were great, there was an assault course for older kids and adults and nature walks too including some very good "touchy feely" boxes as you went round

Bad Points: for me, Conkers let itself down because despite the fact that we were visiting in the Easter holidays, there were quite a few broken interactive exhibits, parts of the assault course were out of order, and there was still fake snow, fairy lights, electric points and a sleigh from were a santas grotto had obviously been over Christmas. Given that Christmas was 3 months ago, I would have assumed this could have been looked at? "Waterside" in itself was a bit of a let down, it seemed to be all about the train, the play area and the amptheatre rather than the trails, which were poorly sign posted, quite frankly not that interesting and many of the "viewing points" were overgrown.

I understand this is still technically out of season, but as its the Easter holidays, I would've thought these sort of things would have been looked at.

That said, I imagine in its full glory, this is a marvellous day out for the kids, and as it is, it's not a bad effort. I just think for me, it could have been so much more.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    139
    100
    89
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Fun for the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went as a group of 4 adults and 6 kids. They all ran for hours and had great fun. Plenty of stuff to climb on for all ages, even an assault course for teenagers and adults, which meant i could have a go. Some good educational stuff inside in and amongst the fun!

Be aware of the weather, it was very muddy, one of ours came home looking like he had been mud wrestling all day, but that all added to the fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves, may have felt a bit hard done to had I paid full price but used some tesco clubcard vouchers. The cafe was slightly overpriced and we did wait a long time for our food to come. There are interavtive things for the children to find out about woodland, wildlife, energy, recycling but some of them didn't work. There was signs so we didn't try them. there is an assault course and even though it was muddy due to the rain, kids loved it. Train was good ride and playgorund kept kids entertained. The flame for Dunblane is there to, rather emotional at this point and we even found Santa's Grotto but he must have been away as no answer when my 8 yr old son knocked.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Educational with lovely areas to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was recommended by our hotel as a good alternative for rainy weather. Lots to explore and educate about the environment and it's creatures indoors and nice walks and play areas outside. Free mini train runs between the two areas outside which the lo's love. Some of the machines weren't working on the indoor section but I am assuming as it is low season that they will be fixed by peak season. Fantastic value for money and if you book online you save 10% also. Good all weather venue oh and free parking. Recommend if you enjoy educational day outs and lots of fresh air options for a wide age range. Note indoor play area is 4+.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, Manager at Conkers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. Come back over Easter and take part in a range of special activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Management attitude put us right off - before we even went!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were was all set for a family trip to Conkers this weekend but having read the reviews decided to reconsider. However, we were prepared to give the place the benefit of the doubt, given that we were all ready to go, but then we came across Conkers response! With such a poor attitude to customer feedback and obviously no concern for the customer experience we've decided not to bother and will instead visit some of the other attractions suggested by the users or just go to the park as it seems like the better option right now :(

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConkersAttraction, Managing Director at Conkers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sharona

We are responding from head office. Poor customer feedback is not acceptable - we value our guests and a great visitor experience is paramount to our operating philosophy. I would be grateful if you could let us know what you felt demonstrated a poor attitude to customer feedback so we can address this. Many thanks.

Best wishes,

CONKERS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conkers also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Conkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conkers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.