We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hicks Lodge National Forest Cycle Centre

Hicks Lodge National Forest Cycle Centre
Willesley Woodside | Moira, Ashby de la Zouch LE65 2UP, England
+44 1530 274533
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an excellent place for families or individuals to explore a bit of the countryside by bicycle. The tracks vary in degrees of difficulty from those that are very family friendly to some that are for the more adventurous cyclists. Set in the developing National Forest, there is a nice cafe facility that serves a range of drinks and snacks. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful, few minutes from civilisation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love going there for a walk around the lake, or through the woods. Often take our bikes for both, the woods offers 3 different length rides offering great off road fun. There is a bike hire service and a lovely cafe. I sometimes go there just to take in the wonderful, peaceful views for a coffee and cake

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I live locally to Hicks Lodge and visit it regularly. The cycle tracks are good fun for an hour or two - this is not a full day out by any stretch of the imagination but more a place to keep fit and have fun.
The cafe is great, serving fantastic home baked cakes and lovely ice creams.
Bike hire is fine and cheaply priced with half decent hard tails available.
All in all it's worth a visit if you're local or in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakthorpe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“POOR SIGNAGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is great for getting out on your bike. However the signage is poor. Unless you really study the map VERY CAREFULLY you can end up on the wrong trail (my friend and I did) and then when we were completely exhausted we couldn't find the exit to get back to the lovely café. Eventually we met a cyclist who was very helpful (the only person we saw during our visit) and he showed us the way. We had a lovely lunch at the café which is very nice - the soup is excellent. We have contacted the Forestry Commission to give our views about the poor signage but they don't seem very interested. It's a shame as it could put people off return visits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
“Excellent day visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stumbled across Hicks Lodge whilst looking for somewhere to walk. It was clean friendly and efficient and the team in the cafe/cycle hire centre were excellent. We enjoyed our walk so much we returned the next day to hire bikes and rode the blue and green routes. They are well planned out with enough excitement and challenge for the novice but htere were also soem serious cyclists around who were clearly enjoying it too.
I woudl highly recommend this place - it is a jewel in the countryside and really made our stay. Adults and children all enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hicks Lodge National Forest Cycle Centre also viewed

Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to Hicks Lodge National Forest Cycle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hicks Lodge National Forest Cycle Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.