We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now renamed and reopened-amazing!Best food in Ashby!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine Bar and Restaurant

The Vine Bar and Restaurant
12 Bath Street, Ashby de la Zouch LE65 2FH​, England
01530411116
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seasonal food served daily, offering brunch, lunch & dinner in a luxurious and welcoming atmosphere
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Now renamed and reopened-amazing!Best food in Ashby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant is now called The Vine, I went there last night with lots of family and friends for a special occasion meal and it was absolutley beautiful. The decor was fantastic, the food delicious and presented expertly even though there were lots to cater for. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and were clearly working very hard to make the place a success. Every one of the other guests also commented how fantastic it now is, my mum said it was the best chicken dish she had ever had! Prices for the food were very very reasonable for the standard of food delivered. The new opening is a credit to the new staff, it is clear a lot of effort has gone into it.
We will all definitley be back here for more!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    65
    34
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just a shame the public does not know what is going on”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

"Others have commented about the low stock levels and general attitude of the staff so I won't go into detail regarding this but something definitely smells fishy here. Usually a sign of lack of credit with suppliers in my experience."

Could be right normally helps if you pay the suppliers, county court judgements don't lie!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were forced to use this restaurant as the only place (or so it seemed) that was open, apart from take-aways. The weather was extremely cold for October but the radiator in the restaurant was not working and although we mentioned this, nothing was done. I ordered a mushroom ravioli which was utterly devoid of anything vaguely resembling a mushroom and after we had been seated for about half an hour a family arrived with a screaming toddler. They were seated quite close to us and the toddler screamed the whole time we were there - surely at that time of the evening it was too late to bring a small child out in the cold to a restaurant? The service was not up to much, the wine glasses on the table were dirty and we were NOT impressed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better Already”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went in tonight , It seems someone is at last spending some money cleaning this place . Asked the young lady that served us and apparently food will be sometime after Xmas once Kitchen is cleaned ! I really hope these people can get this place right as Ashby needs somewhere with good wine & good food... We will be back for sure .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eugh !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

AWFUL!!!!! Slow, dirty , no stock, no personality , no customers this place you should certainly take a miss. But then again I don't think it will be here for long!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Vine Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.