We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Decor Chic but brilliant..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giggling Goblin Coffee Shop - CLOSED

The Giggling Goblin Coffee Shop
4 Mill Lane Mews, Ashby de la Zouch LE65 1HP, England
01530 588101
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Decor Chic but brilliant..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On first arriving you might be put off by the tired look but don't be because the food is excellent and the coffee and hot chocolate just great. We now go every week and generally have fluffy scrambled eggs on very nice brown granary bread and/or a bacon sandwich which is made with good quality bacon and when we ask for it well done thats what we get. Friendly ladies, good service, brill food and at about the right price. What more could you ask for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne s, Owner at The Giggling Goblin Coffee Shop, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi There and thanks for your lovely review. Quite right about the decor - we are about to revamp at Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A lovely coffee shop well worth seeking out. Delicious hot chocolate, lovely snacks and a warm friendly welcome. Give Costa a miss next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W.Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Coffee Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great place for a Coffee and Hot Chocolate. Excellent alternative to chains.Pleasant service and cosy feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Service is always friendly, atmosphere great and fun, coffee is the best in Ashby. Thank you Daryl and Jane for making us so welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We discovered this fab little coffee shop in Mill Lane Mews in Ashby de la Zouch. The welcome was warm and genuine form the lovely Jayne, the hot chocolate drink was just fab, I wanted another. The Red Velvet cake (home made apparently) was the best cake I've tasted in years and I like to think I'm a bit of a expert! (In other words, I eat a lot of cakes.)

However, the stars of the Giggling Goblin . . . Jane and her staff; just the warmest welcome you could want. Even on a busy Saturday lunchtime, they took the time to make your visit a friendly one and took time to talk and smile. Not what you get at some bigger chain store coffee shops!

Will I visit again? Absolutely, bye bye chain store coffee shop, hello Giggling goblin!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giggling Goblin Coffee Shop also viewed

Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giggling Goblin Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.