We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service from the start” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Rickshaw Indian Restaurant

The Rickshaw Indian Restaurant
48 Tamworth Road, Ashby de la Zouch LE652PR, England
01530-56-03-49
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fantastic Indian restaurant! Food is superb and the excellent staff are always attentive and inviting. The best Indian around by far!
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service from the start”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Waited 50 mins for a take away, customers kept waiting for booked tables and phoned orders, manager behind reception shouting at staff, not well organised or managed at all. Even had customers state you still here who had gone out for 30 minutes and come back and they where still kept waiting, they even offered us a drink from the bar, no apologys from staff for long wait and to top it all when we returned home part of our order was missing, so we called and they said will send, 30 mins later it arrives but by now we have eaten as the food was going cold, so I asked for my money back only on the missing food, the person who delivered the missing food was more than apologetic, but the man on the other end of the phone was shouting, so I asked to speak to him,he was rude and very aggressive down the phone and questioned me about the missing food
After a few minutes of stating I will come back to the restaurant, he told the delivery person to give me my money for the missing food only back, I will never use your services again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    6
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, polite staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we dropped in on spec one weekday at 5pm.
Polite friendly staff served us good quality food in a nice relaxed atmosphere.
We have been again since and the standard was just as good.
The staff were all different and it was good to see the level of service and preparation of food was consistent..
We have booked again and invited relatives over.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We called at the Rickshaw on the way back from Birmingham to Middlesbrough we had spotted the place on a reccy through Ashby earlier in the day whilst en route the other way with an hour to kill. We were not disappointed we were joined by son and wife from Nottingham and had a great meal before resuming our journey north. Highly recommended by a true curry devotee the garlic chicken was a great dish and the staff were top notch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive Indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Expensive Indian food, staff not over friendly. Too fussy to be able to enjoy, not a very nice atmosphere within

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Visited here on New Years Eve. Atmosphere was great. Food was perfect.
Waiters were very upbeat and cheerful, even though one of them told us two waiters had rang in sick! They managed really well n did not get flustered at all!
Thanks for yet another yummy meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rickshaw Indian Restaurant also viewed

Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Rickshaw Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rickshaw Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.