We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food friendly staff but terrible accommodation for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holland Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Lafford Lane, Upholland WN8 0QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upholland
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice food friendly staff but terrible accommodation for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Possibly the good rooms had gone because there was a wedding on at the hotel. The food was plentiful and good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding with a good choice and the hot food freshly cooked to order. The bar and reception were recently refurbished and were very pleasant. However the rest of the hotel looked a bit tired.
Our room was tiny. The window was frosted glass and obviously no view. there was a constant hum of a an air conditioning unit outside. The bed was a very small double. I did not realise hotels still had beds of this size. The room was clean but the carpet stained. The en suite had a step down and immediately a low beam, making it hazardous for anyone over five foot. There was a bath with a hand held shower. It was impossible to stand in the bath because of the low ceiling and the shower temperature was not possible to control. No natural light so applying make up was hit and miss.
We paid £ 85.poor value, when you consider that for another night we stayed in an Ibis for £50 bb. The room was much bigger with a huge bed and a proper shower. Other rooms may have been better to be fair.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room with 2 beds and a proper shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    18
    15
    12
See reviews for
35
34
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The service of the staff was first class. A very popular wedding venue but we were made to feel special and unique from the very start. We can't speak highly enough of Deborah (Wedding Co-ordinator), Colin (Boss), Jane( Event Organiser), Gareth ( Event Host ) and the Chef (sorry, don't know his name). They went the extra mile to make our wedding day perfect for us.

A beautiful venue and the ceremony and the reception rooms were decorated to perfection. We both stayed at the hotel the night before. I stayed in a twin (Rm 115) with the Best Man - the bed was awesome. Had a great nights kip before the biggest day of my life. Wifey stayed in one of the swanky suites with her bridesmaid and we both stayed in the beautiful Dolan Suite for our wedding night. T.V in the bath, large room, massive bed (very comfortable) and air conditioning.

A special hotel run by people who care. We shall be returning to Lovell's for the beautiful menu and to reminisce about our Perfect Day.

Thank you very much.

Mr & Mrs Sharkey

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambleside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel in June, the wedding was fab & the food was really good, the staff could'nt do enough for you, it was a pity there was'ent enough of them to cope. We checked into room 15 in the Garden Suite at 2-45 check-in is at 2oclock, & our room had not been serviced, We left the room until 5'oclock & went back to chill before the night do, only to find the laminate flooring had not been hoovered & as the sofa bed was low to the ground & the bottom sheet not tucked in the sheet had hairs & fluff all over , also the bathroom had not been cleaned properly with a mass of hairs left in the bath, ugh!!! after complaining to the Manager the room was cleaned . We could not turn the heating off in the room as the controls did'nt work, it was like a hothouse, the kettle did'nt boil unless you held the lever down & the toilet dripped all night.and the carpet between rooms 14 & 15 had'nt been hoovered since Adam was a lad. There obviously was not enough staff & time to do things properly. A fab view over the golf course from this room was its saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I cannot thank Holland Hall enough for giving us our perfect wedding day. The service was excellent the food was superb and better than any other hotel wedding food i've ever had. The staff could not do enough for us and went above and beyond to help with all our wedding preparations. I've been to a few weddings here as a guest and have had an amazing day so this is why i booked it and it was more than i could have ever hoped for. Management are so professional and i think leave other hotels in the area flagging far behind ...after having bad experiences and hearing of my friends disasters. everyone of my guests loved and commented how excellent the service was, lovely the rooms were and how delicious the wedding breakfast was which has left me so proud. Please go and even just enjoy a meal in their restaurant ..cant recommend enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dolan suite is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelmersdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

lovely hotel, beautiful quiet surroundings, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, bar prices reasonable and the food in lovels bar and grill is delicious! You will not be disappointed with your stay here! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend when we attended a wedding last year. The hotel itself and the rooms are lovely with spacious and modern bathrooms in each room. The prices for the actual room weren't so bad either.

The wedding set up was lovely and the party/meal afterwards was very well organised and the staff were very attentive and always kept every ones glass filled and cleared the plates quickly.

Check in/out was quick and simple - just the way you want it.

During the wedding, our room was cleaned and unfortunately some money was stolen from my boyfriend's wallet. He immediately told the staff about what had happened and they were very apologetic and reimbursed him with vouchers he could use at the bar/restaurants for the rest of our stay. Although the money being stolen wasn't ideal, the hotel staff made sure he wasn't out of pocket completely.

Other than this, it was a lovely day and the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey,uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here instead of staying in central Manchester, which is 40 minutes away in a car. Firstly I can't understand another reviewer complaining about over priced as nowadays a hotel room for under £40 is great value (used booking.com). I arrived Friday evening and ordered food from the restaurant and ate in the bar. The fixed 2 course menu was great, nice food well presented for about £14, service was great and the staff were friendly. My room (116) was clean and tidy, the bed was perhaps the most comfortable bed I have slept in anywhere. I stayed to Sunday and the towels etc were changed. Being really picky the shower was not the most powerful but it did its job. Overall a nice place, great service, friendly staff for under £40 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Lafford Lane, Upholland WN8 0QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Upholland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upholland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel offering the accommodation of a fine hotel with excellent function, wedding and conference facillities - The Holland Hall Country House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holland Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hall Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.