We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Worthington

The Crown at Worthington
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown at Worthington to your Saves list
The Crown at Worthington
19 20 Platt Lane, Standish WN1 2DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fourth visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Recently completed our fourth stay at this charming country pub. Good beers and excellent food, never had a bad meal here. The staff are all pleasant and friendly. Rooms basic but very clean and have everything in that you need. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    17
    19
    17
See reviews for
29
40
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I couldn't fault this hotel and the service was so great that I wrote them a letter of thanks. My wife and I were due to travel down from Scotland on a business/leisure weekend but on the day we were due to go down to Worthington the weather was atrocious and I accidentally drove my car into a flooded river. I rang the hotel to cancel and they were very accommodating, but then we decided to travel down anyway so rang them back to re-book. They were fantastic, and even though we were going to be late (by the time my car was lifted out of the river!) they assured us we would be fed, even though the restaurant closed at 9pm.
The food was superb, the steak incredible. The range of beers was exceptional, the bar cosy and the staff friendly. The owners made time to speak to us, and in the morning the chef prepared a great breakfast for us and since it was a quiet morning and we were the only people in for breakfast, he sat down with us and we chatted pleasantly through the meal.
A well equipped room, comfortable and warm, a fairly secluded location - which suited us just fine - and all at an excellent price.
Three months later (with my drowned car still in the garage!) we travelled back down to complete the business we had originally come down for and stayed there again. Usually, with your expectations raised and the rose coloured specs firmly on, a second visit disappoints. But not here. Everything was as good as before including a bit of great banter with the bar manager.
Not had the need to do business that way since but if was ever anywhere near I would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the rear have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We live locally and have been in a good few times, first off let me say, the beer in here is SUPERB, it's really overpriced for the area, but, it is very good....we've had a few hit and miss meals in here but tonight has prompted me to write a review... the 2 starters came, my mussels were great, flavoursome, and reasonable portion, enjoyed.... however my girlfriends 3 pieces of garlic bread with cheese and tomato, were stone cold....not wanting them microwaved we put this down to a timing error and carried on... the mains arrived... I had ordered Gammon, while she had opted for fish and chips, what a total disaster... The portions would not fill a fly, a TINY handful of chips, and I mean tiny!! an even smaller portion of peas with my gammon, which was TINY! overcooked and that thin it was one step up from bacon. The fish and chips were the same, although the fish was nice, it resembled a minnow rather than cod it was that small, again the same beyond belief minimal portion of chips was issued, along with a small peas and tartare sauce. The chips are handcut and homemade, which normally credit should be given for, however they were lifeless and very greasy, I finished my main in under 4 minutes and was still hungry, and I'm not a glutton or huge eater... it was my girlfriends birthday and she and I were hugely dissapointed, I mentioned the portions to the owner, he apologised as I caught him on the hop, but did exactly nothing to explain why this was. Avoid - if you want a GREAT meal go to the Hop Vine at Burscough Bridge, fantastic food and awesome service, we've been a round 15 times and if anything it just gets better, the Crown - great for beer if you've money to burn, but eat elsewhere....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I have just had an overnight stay here and yes it's an old pub which needs a little refurbishment here and there,but don't let that put you off staying here. The variety of drinks is exceptional and the food is very good.The barmaid on Saturday afternoon was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.The little touches of fruit and water was much appreciated
The biscuits were a bit different too. Thank you for a lovely stay. We wouldn't hesitate to come and stay with you again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I haven't lived in the area for 10 years and so we visited here on a recommendation. Food and service were all good, the Sunday roast was lovely and there wasn't too much of it. We did only manage 2 puddings between 5 of us though and we had no starters! We would return to try the steaks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here on groupon deal. Meal was included which was lovely, roast pork with veg, homemade chunky chips, yummy desserts.
Room was comfortable, i agree with another review that the tea tray was minging, darent look closely at anything else. Room was small, tv was tiny and literally almost touching the ceiling so was quite uncomfotable to watch. The bathroom was an extremely tight squeeze and the shower took a while to get heated.
Breakfast was served and was ok. Could also have cerial.
Overall it was very good value for money and i like these cosy places with the restaurants and bars which are comfortable and relaxed.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We called last Friday on our way back from Manchester at 2.30pm. Beer festival on, choice of 18 real ales. Sadly husband was limited to one pint as he was driving. (Pheasant ale, was fantastic) Ate off the cheaper lunchtime menu, his beer battered fish and the chips and mushy peas were piping hot and, he reported, super. I had the Lancashire cheese and spring onion pie and ships and veg. Not huge, but quite enough, really really tasty!
Quite a few in, two small niggles, the music was too loud (mainly couples in who were chatting, so loud 60s/70s music isn't necessary) Second, the ladies' loos! Clean and fresh yes! BUT toilet seat loose and paper not on roll. These must date back to the 50s as they are the original 50s fashionable shade of pink. THESE DESPERATELY NEED UPDATING, especially as there are functions held there.
Great being able to pop in for food all day though. WE THINK THE PRICES ARE VERY REASONABLE AND PORTIONS QUITE ADEQUATE!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown at Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Worthington

Address: 19 20 Platt Lane, Standish WN1 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a unique and individual Country Pub and B&B in the Lancashire countryside located between Chorley and Wigan, close to the village of Standish, with close access to the M6 and M61 motorway networks.The Crown at Worthington is the perfect place to eat, drink and relax. Enjoy fine fresh food including our amazing butchers block selection, revel in award winning array of real ales from all around the country. Then stay the night in the one of new refurbished bedrooms, then start the morning with a superb Lancashire breakfast!Whether it be for lunch, dinner, or a superb weekend break – this country pub has so much more to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Worthington Hotel Standish
Crown At Worthington Standish
The Crown At Worthington Standish, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Worthington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.