We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place, lovely staff, lobely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Garden

The Olive Garden
489 Preston Rd, Standish, Standish, Wigan WN6 0QD, England
01257 421144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Standish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: NOW OPEN LUNCH...12PM-9:30PM DAILY
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“amazing place, lovely staff, lobely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love visiting olive garden, the food is amazing and the staff are so friendly. Its the best place ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    49
    17
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First but not last visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with a party of 6 for an evening meal and we were not disappointed. The food was lovely and tasty with plenty of choice, my starter of chicken skewers was wonderful, but my husband was a little disappointed with his spare ribs, he said they were very spare of meat. However his main course, chicken with mushrooms and bacon and hand made chips more than made up for it. The atmosphere was great with staff enhancing any birthday celebrations. Service was a little slow at times but it was very busy. Overall a good night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bank holiday BBQ ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My self and my family and lots and lots of friends visit OG regularly and it's always the best as far as food and service are concerned We attended last 3 BBQ and the one held last Sunday and I can see they have taken a lot of time and effort to make it enjoyable for everyone. Then you get someone complaining like the previous comment and it makes you angry.
They had everything that you could expect for a lovely day out and every one I spoke to said they were more than happy the food quality fantastic and the entertainment was second to none. The only comment I do have are the parking facilities because of the amount of people that attend, this needs to be looked into.
PS the other comment is regarding the chairs there was a shortage I hope the organiser doesn' take this comment as a complaint.
We love you Olive Garden for a fantastic bank holiday weekend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need to go back to basics with bbq festivals...poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visit regularly and food and service is reasonable in restaurant. The bbq festivals have gone dramatically downhill with cheap, poor quality, undercooked food and running out of all popular alcoholic drinks and cans. No reponse despite lots of people complaining...go back to basics as the first one was fab

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at The Olive Garden, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I think the very few people who are complaining are mis understanding the concept and idea behind our festival. We are by no means claiming the quality of the burgers served was high quality expensive burgers, because it wasn't , but it wasn't poor. But at the same time i think we are our own enemies in that everything we make in the restaurant is home made, our desserts, pizzas, bread, sauces, base sauces everything you can imagine and maybe this is what you have come to expect at our festival.
Now let me break things up for you the entertainment alone that day cost just under 1000 pound, thats 125 wristbands at 8 quid just to cover the cost of the music. this is not including stage hire, sound equipment, bouncy castles, facepainting, bar hire x 2, wages for the 15+ staff we had that day, paying for the gardener to keep the field prepared for the day...the food and i can go on and on and on for the next 10 mins if you want me to....
Now that i have set the tone for you it is near impossible for me to go out and source the best sausages, burgers when we are only charging 8 pound...you can't even go to mc donalds for that price.
All our Salads were home made, from the potato salad, tomato salad, rice salads, even our coleslaw was all made from SCRATCH. Our ck wings were the same ck wings that we serve in the restaurant daily and get complements on them day in day out! The ribs were slow cooked in the inside oven for hours before being finished off on the BBQ. Our pizzas that day were all home made. The chilli con carne was probably the best home made carne you would have ever tasted..
My point is that the whole point in the festival is not to showcase that we make the best burgers or hotdogs because we showcase our high quality food day in day out and its a testament to why we are so busy. It is a day were as a restaurant, we do something different, something for all the families who dine regularly at our place...to have a great family day out and not break your pockets...its a day that all of us as a team can enjoy rather than being couped up in the restaurant every day of the year. its a party, a party to celebrate with all our friends in that a restaurant doesnt have to just be about serving food indoors. And we like to think that everyone appreciates all the hard work and effort we put into the event. Yes our burgers werent home made but at 8 pounds what do you expect? i think people like you have to many high expectations...we are not a charity...we do our best for that day and thats as simple as that. We appreciate your comments and the fact you came to support us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have only visited The Olive Garden once; however the service and care from the staff was excellent, the food was beautiful and the ambience was perfect. I especially loved the little quirky details they had dotted around the restaurant! We went on a weekday as there was a deal on, so it was also great value for money. Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Garden also viewed

Wrightington, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.