We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Wigan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Wigan Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Wigan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“coach trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed here on 5day coach trip must say most reveiws are very unfair some parts of the hotel could with a spruce up but overall we had a clean warm comfortable room food was good staff friendly nice pool so for the money excellent value would stay again some people never seem to be satisfied

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    90
    90
    99
    244
See reviews for
92
198
27
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself and partner stayed here as part of the grand national trip ( 2 nights 5th and 6th april ) our room was on the second floor and was passable apart from the noise of a generator which dronned on and on. We went to reception to ask for another room after about a 20 minute wait we were allocated a room on the same floor, this was no better infact the decor of the room was worse, so for a couple of nights we would put up with very little sleep due to the noise so be warned. The room was,nt very clean and my partner found " creepy crawlies " running on the foor and around the bath on both mornings we complained to reception but god nows if anything was done about it. Breakfast was ok the usual fry ups under heat lamps etc. Evening meals were better but no choice was given.
Overall this hotel is on the decline and needs a revamp from top to bottom.

Room Tip: keep away from the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the staff helpful and friendly. The room was adequate, there was constant condensation on the window and damp so this created a funny smell if the window was shut all day we had to leave it open. We never got any clean pillow cases or sheets during our stay and it was never hoovered, and no extra showergel, the towels got changed once. The food was a carvery each night and was ok the breakfasts were very good plenty to choose from. The hotel could do with a make over and could be cleaned better than it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my stag do it was cheap and that's what we wanted but I can't fault the hotel the staff was very friendly thanks to Katie for booking all are taxis and giving us advise on where to go out over all enjoyed it

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night as I was working in Wigan, you can see when you walk in that at one point some years ago it must have been nice, but it has been run down with no investment to bring it up a good standard. I was at the back of this hotel looking down at the swimming pool and a empty car park, the window seals had gone and this made looking out as if it was foggy, years of not repainting the walls and windows could be seen. The bed had seen better days and was hard , Shower was so hot or too cold could not get it right, so if a lot of money was spent on this place it could be nice, but I wonder if there is the money around these days to do it.
I have to say that the three course dinner was not bad, breakfast was so so, but the best bit I think was the price of a pint £1.95, its over £3.00 were I come from so that an't bad.
So low price hotel and you can tell, would not want to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed over Easter for two nights, room dated with cobebs, dirty bathroom floor and tiles could do with a good clean. First evening meal not a good selection and soup was cold. Breakfast no cups available, staff not interested, ok if you like full English breakfast which we dont. Butter, jam and maralade in ceral bowl uncovered where people are talking and coughing while waiting to toast bread. So called leisure facilities, swimming pool is like one you would find in a back garden, gym so small that the two bikes are placed one in front of the other so someone would be facing the others butt, again needs a desparate face lift. We were charged to use these. The next evening meal selection better but with same vegetables, roast pototoes or chips as night before. Deserts were same as night before. Soup was brought from kitchen and still cold as was the main meal. Staff are just not interested if you complain. I was shown to a table with a broken chair.
We had a deal for hotel but I still expect it to be of a reasonable standard, this is certainly not. Avoid needs shutting down

Room Tip: Go across road to premier inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

On arrival you could see it was going to be bad. The windows in reception were filthy. The room we were given was dirty, not hoovered, the bedside table was crumbling apart, there were cracks everywhere in the walls and ceiling. The bathroom was the worst, there was bits of hair on the floor and urine stains by the toilet. I asked to be moved but the room they offered was no better. The restaurant was even worse, dirty floors, no staff, cold dried up food left under hot lamps which didn't work properly, had to ask for someone to serve us and get us fresh bread etc. Later that night i noticed there was a used sanitary towel under the pipe at the back of the toilet. The next day we went out for the day and to eat. When we went back to our room someone had been in to make the bed but the sanitary towel was still on the bathroom floor. I would never use Britannia hotels again. Disgusting!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Wigan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.