We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Wigan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Wigan Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Wigan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way up to the Lake District. We booked a "superior" room. If our room was superior then I cannot imagine how poor the standard accomodation must be! The room was shabby and quite grubby. The "kingsize " bed turned out to be two singles pushed together. There was no valance to cover the mattress bases and the duvet was not nearly big enough and did not reach the edges of the bed. The shower rail was rusted and the grouting in the bathroom dirty, as was the window sill. There was no hairdryer in the room (as stated in the facilities) and no WIFI access from the room (also listed in the room facilities).
The floorboards were very noisy and we were grateful that we were not sleeping on the floor below - it would be unbearable.
The whole hotel has a damp, musty smell. Breakfast was adequate - as much as you wanted to eat but food very cheap quality -avoid the mushrooms and black pudding at all costs!
There was a wedding at the hotel on the night we stayed and guests were talking loudly and shouting, children playing and running around in the car park until 3 am.
We have stayed at other hotel in the chain but this was awful!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs - try the Premier Inn opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    90
    90
    99
    244
See reviews for
92
198
27
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had to clear the tables before setting it again for our meals. The staff in the restraurant were very young and had no interest in their job, we asked for water several times during our eveing meal, it took about 3 or 4 requests before we managed to get water but we did not have any glasses to drink the water out of. So gave it up as a bad job.
There did not seem to be any management staff to oversee the staff. I presumed the hotel must have been without a manager. The food was very poor, so after two evening meals we decided to eat across the road at the pub on the other nights of our stay.
The bathroom was dirty and the floor looked as though it had not been cleaned in 12 months, the tiles around the bath/shower were dirty and looked as though they had not been wiped down in months. I felt sorry for the staff, it looked as though staff moral was very low. I presumed that they were very low paid, maybe I am just making excuses for them, I don't know.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

stayed overnight as was going to a wedding nearby,booked 2 rooms when we went in one of rooms smelled of stale smoke,complained to reception and was told both were smoking rooms,i thought all public buildings were none smoking.and no other rooms were available,so was going to ask for moneyback and walk,but they found us another room,rooms are dated and in need of moderisation,didnt use leisure facilities as were only there for the night,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We offer both smoking and non smoking rooms for our guests comfort and so I am glad to hear that our staff was helpful in meeting your needs. We hope to welcome you back again in the future, all the team at Britannia Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Do not go to this hotel. £70 a night for a stale smoke smelling room, pedal bin only had a little spoke coming out of it, no air conditioning, bathroom looked dirty and from the 70's, and the chairs looked like a charity shop had given them to the hotel for free just to get rid of them. The toilet systern lid flipped off every time the toilet was flushed. Not conducive to a relaxing hotel experience. Didn't want anything, including our feet, touching the chairs or the floor. Hotel experience from hell.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We will investigate into the reasons for what you felt had let your stay down and as we are constantly making improvements to our rooms, customer feedback is important. Please visit our website for fantastic rates and offers and should you return, I am confident you will be more than happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

very basic, dated hotel.Needs a massive makeover and update,has the potential to be a super hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon hull, united kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed as part of a National Holidays Excursion. Upon entering the room we noticed it had toenail clippings on the floor and a biscuit behind a chair. Very dusty room. Dust, biscuit and toenail clippings were still there when we left the hotel 4 days later as room was never vacuumed all week. Was situated to the rear of the hotel, when opened window the noise was awful, due to motors from swimming pool and kitchens. woken up every morning at around 5.45am due to staff moving metal trollies or chatting during smoke breaks. Was told we would be moved but this never happened. Very dirty dated decor. Plus side to our stay, the food was outstanding, entertainment was good and staff in those departments were very helpful although seemed very overworked. Updated decor and web photo's needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Myself, wife and 4 year old recently stayed at this hotel as we were close by for visiting family.
After reading reports on trip advisor we were reluctant but WE HAD AN AMAZING TIME PLEASE IGNORE THE RUBBISH PUT ON HERE.
After checking in we were given a lovely room for the 3 of us. We didnt have time to unpack as we stayed for a week our son wanted to explore which we did and found the leisure facilities. we were greeted by a tall friendly gent called Martyn (we Believe he was the leisure manager) he was very helpful and friendly and went out his way to give us info etc. also the leisure pass that we were offered was a great deal. and with us having a young child it saved us money etc. I believe this young man has a child of his own so he fully understood our requirements. We think he is a great asset to the hotel as he went out his way for us.
When relaxing in the bar that was good but the bar staff were boring thats when we could find them. breakfast was good aswell as the weather all in all was a good stay in the hotel and leisure facilities. would reccomend to all ages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiganGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Wigan Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your review and all your kind comments have been passed on to the relevant staff. We hope to see you again soon, all the team at Britannia Wigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel
Britannia Wigan Hotel Standish, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Wigan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.