We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spread Eagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Spread Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We didn't stay but dined in the bar.

We were afforded a warm welcome. When we arrived the restaurant was fully booked and the bar extremely busy. However, a table quickly became available and the lovely staff looked after us very well.

The food was delicious, beautifully presented, with perfect portion size.

Great food an stand out service. We left as very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Spread Eagle are team are chuffed to bits that you liked all we do! And certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
45
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here in 2011 and it was brilliant! Our guests could not praise it enough! This was our 1st visit back since then and it was a bit disappointing and sad really. We had a lovely stay but you could really tell that the bar, restaurant and rooms all needed sprucing up a little and a good clean. The wardrobe and the window shutters did not close in our room so we had to prop them closed with our shoes!! Service could be better, we were shown to our room, we looked around to ask about breakfast and check out times and the girl had gone! One thing that really should be considered is the price of the room, whilst they are all nicely decorated, you feel a bit miffed when you're paying the same amount as the person in the next room who has a bath in their room or a mezzanine floor....especially when your room is tiny! You should pay less for a smaller room with fewer facilities! A good stay but sad to see it had gone down a little.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Antonia

Thank you for giving us positive pointers in your review, I feel as sad as you do now and will certainly look into all areas raised in your report. I am sure that if you decide to stay with us on your next anniversary all will be to you fondest memories of your very special day with us last year.
Once again thank you and we do look forward to seeing you again Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed one night for a friend's birthday - and what a gorgeous experience. Stunning location, with outstanding views. Plenty of parking, and free wifi.

The rooms are luxurious - and the attention to detail makes all the difference. Bedding is sumptious, and rooms are lovely and warm, with a really comfortable bed and fab cushions! Big chunky flabjacks on the tea tray (very naughty! and super fluffy bath robes! The bath is really deep - great for a very deep soak - heavenly with their bath salts which are included too.

Fantastic evening meal - thoroughly recommend the rib eye steak with stilton and spring onion sauce - and definitely the dark chocolate sorbet! Chef was very acconnodating to particular dietary needs (low fat) - and great to hear a folk singer with guitar to accompany our meal.

Breakfast was also very gorgeous - high quality and plentiful, with newspapers available too.

Will definitely be back for a restful and totally enjoyable stay in the beautiful Lancashire countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thank you Lynn for your great review we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us it really makes all the difference when our guests take the time to write such a glowing report. Once again thank you from all at the Spread Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Never had a bad experience here. Went first time nearly 15 years ago and have been back many times since. Love the food, the atmosphere and the rooms are gorgeous. The setting is fabulous on the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello there! Thank you for your very kind reviews we are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and that of many it seems, we will endeavour to keep our socks up for the next 15 years! Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night before my friends wedding at Eaves Hall.

Food

The food is good quality with plenty of choices. There are specials and the pub caters for vegetarians.

Drink

Nice choice of wine and beers. Lovely local tea collection served in a fancy teapot and teapot cover (nice touch).

Accommodation

The rooms are individually decorated and very homely. The room are nice and warm despite the cold and snow outside but not too hot. Toiletries are provided, there is a fridge in the common area full of bottled water and internet is provided free of charge.

Location

The pub is in a great location (although the tight bend outside is a little scary when turning into the car park so drive slow). Nice play to stay for a mid-week or weekend break and well worth the drive for a meal regardless of staying over.

Staff

The staff are friendly, helpful and actually seem to enjoy their job.

Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Inform the pub if you prefer a bath to a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TA it does make all the difference!! We will most certainly tell our team of your happy visit to the Spread Eagle. And look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a valentines treat! The staff were really friendly and helpful on arrival and showed us to our room which was beautiful. We had a room with a view of the stream which was lovely. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the staff were again very efficient and friendly. After dinner we sat in the bar which was nice to do a spot of people watching! I had the best nights sleep in a very comfy bed and the following morning enjoyed a very substantial Yorkshire breakfast! I will defiantly be returning and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
THANK YOU FOR YOUR GLOWING REVIEW! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! It really makes our day when our guests take the time to tell us how much they like us! CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend for a belated Valentine's thing with my partner. Lovely spot but we decided it was too cold for an extensive walk and retired to the bar...!
Nice and relaxed, but quite busy.
Our room was really pleasant and we had a peep in the others which looked equally pretty and stylish.
Evening meal was great with attentive service.
Breakfast well above average with a nice, if uninspired selection.
The phone in our room didn't work so we had to go down for wine glasses and then an ironing board, but that's a minor quibble.
Good parking across the road and cute ducks on the riverbank opposite.
Overall, a really pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
thank you for your charming review! We are chuffed you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spread Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.