We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northcote Hotel to your Saves list
Northcote Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the third time we have been lucky enough to visit this gem and, today being no exception, the food, quality of service and overall experience has been sublime.
Can't wait for the next one! Thank you so much - Ian Phillips and Sharon Adair

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ian and Sharon

Thank you for posting this recent review and for your lovely comments.

Until next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    46
    18
    13
    1
See reviews for
40
334
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had booked for a family meal to celebrate my birthday and my partner surprised me with a nights stay! The room on arrival was absolutely stunning; the bed was huge and the quality of decoration was superb! The bathroom was massive; although it didn't have a bath the shower was lovely. We had a few drinks in the room and played some of the games available. When we went down for dinner we had welcome drinks and canapés in the lounge before being shown to our table; the staff were incredibly knowledgeable about the food and helped us select wine - our glasses were always topped up! For dessert I shared a cheeseboard with my mother in law and the staff were very accommodating of our specific tastes and explained and the individual cheese's and where they were from. The food was lovely local produce and it was great having everything explained. The chef even arrange a birthday plate for me at the end of the meal with some gorgeous hand made sweets and chocolates. The breakfast in the morning was just as nice as the meal the evening before and the staff were as attentive. It is quite an expensive hotel to stay over but we thought the meal was quite reasonable for Michelin star food. We will definitely be returning just need to start saving!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us to celebrate your birthday. We are really pleased that you found your room comfortable, our staff knowledgable and that you enjoyed the food, cheeseboard, wines and breafkast. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would just like to thank ALL of the team at Northcote for making my birthday treat absolutely fantastic.

From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel welcome. Working in a customer service based industry we strive for excellence and it was great to see such a high standard from the staff. The room was spotlessly clean and perfect!! The food was spot on and every mouthful was gorgeous. I cannot think of anything negative to say. I have admired Nigel and Lisa for some time and it was a pleasure to not be disappointed. Thanks again. I just hope it wont be another 40 years before we return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for your fantastic comments. I am pleased to hear that the Northcote team made your birthday so enjoyable. I will pass on your lovely comments and hope to be able to welcome you back to Northcote sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was lovely, free upgrade. Staff were very professional and friendly. Tasting menu, al, corses were sensational, the matched wines perfect. Service throughout was impeccable. Breakfast was one of the best, especially the muesli. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I will pass on your comments to eveyone involved in your experience as they strive off knowing their service is valued. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time I've been to Northcote. 1st time we stayed and had the Tasting menu which was divine.
This time we had the set seasonal lunch menu and took my parents. It was one of the best meals I've ever experienced. The whole experience was fabulous. The staff are brilliant. Attentive, down to earth and professional in the right blend. The food was fresh, well presented and served with just the right amount of time between courses. Thank you Northcote. And anyone indecisive about going? Don't be. Worth every penny. And the seasonal lunch is v reasonable at £27.50 for 3 courses and coffee.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your marvellous feeback. Our kitchen brigade and restaurant team endevour to deliver an experience to remember and it is fantastic that they have done this on both occassions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were on a business trip to Lancashire and booked the Northcote Hotel, not realising it had a Michelin-starred restaurant - what a treat! Everything about the hotel was excellent, from the initial booking enquiry when we were offered a room with a view, through arrival and reception where we were asked to take a seat and provided with a drink, to breakfast the next day and final check-out. The atmosphere is one of professional calm throughout. Dinner was the highlight with top quality fresh food in an inventive menu served with an easy formality. Perfect, we would return.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view but they'll probably offer it to you first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. The staff at Northcote strive off being able to deliver an enjoyable yet professional experience to all our guests. Lisa and the team in the kitchen also strive off serving fresh, local produce cooked to the hightest of standards. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and stayed here for one night in early March on the Gourmet break. We had tried previously to book on trips south but this was the first time we had been succesful. From the moment we arrived to when we departed, there was only one word to cover the experience - outstanding!

We had booked a deluxe room overlooking the front of the house. It was one of the best and well appointed rooms we have stayed in and the bathroom was exceptional with bathrobes and a good range of amenities. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and there was a large sitting area. Complimentary soft drinks, tea, coffee and wifi!!

Our evening meal started with champagne and canapies in the lounge beside a roaring log fire. Thereafter the evening got even better. The five course "Gourmet" dinner was wonderful and to die for. Each course was as good as the previous and the waiting staff were unbelievably attentive explaining each course in wonderful detail. Coffee and petit fours were served back in the lounge and then to bed for a wonderfully peaceful and comfortable sleep.

Breakfast was up to the high standard of the previous evenings meal and served at the table.

Some people might think the cost to be slightly high but believe me, the cost of the dinner at £60 each is a lot cheaper than we have paid at other Michelin star establishments!!

This is a place and experienced not to be missed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Bancroft, Owner at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read such a fantastic review and to hear that when a guest has enjoyed their experience with us. Thank you so much for your lovely coments about your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northcote Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.