We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things that matter....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Main St, Hornby, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hornby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's the little things that matter....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The Castle Inn absolutely looks the part with a bright, inviting bar area that achieves a nice blend of traditional and modern. Unfortunately, things did not start well for us when they were unable to find a record of our booking. There was another booking for a table for 5 - for someone called Janet - but there was nothing or no-one to confirm whether this was ours and as we didn't have a Janet (nor does my name sound like Janet!) the table went a-begging. Top tip - take a contact phone number or make sure you get the name right. Thankfully, there was room in the Inn and, after re-locating from next to to the Gents, we settled into our meal.

The 2 starters we had were OK. The Black Pudding was excellent, well presented and tasty. The Pigeon Brest with Chorizo was less successful; the pigeon was tough and the chorizo just a couple of wafer thin slices that failed to impart any of its usual warm spiciness to the rest of the plate. A little disappointing overall.

The mains were very good - soft, succulent Pork Shoulder; excellent Rissoto; a well presented Chicken and Bacon salad; a really tasty Steak Pie; and a very good portion of Haddock and Chips. The vegetable medley is worth a mention - a well cooked, well presented combo of carrot batons, peas and Savoy cabbage that brought colour, flavour and texture to the plates. Balancing this out, however, one has to observe that the fish batter, whilst adequately crisp was a little anaemic which when placed alongside the over-size, slightly pale chunky chips was a little off-putting.

The staff were very friendly if slightly distant - their main focus was clearly on the very busy (full) main eating area (Bistro) - but one felt that they were rather going through the motions - we had 2 checks within seconds of each other to see if everything was all right with our meals but our drinks and water jug ran dry without offer of refill.

It was, however, a busy night - Saturday after Valentine's Day - and the Special menu did look very good.

Friends speak very highly of the Castle Inn, which I know to be very popular locally, so maybe we caught them on a bit of a bad night; I'd certainly be willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and would go back to give it another try. With some excellent local competition, however, it is the small margins that make the difference.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne l, Owner at The Castle Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time in writing your review, I want to address all of your grievances, firstly there were two tables that were booked for 5 people, I can only apologise for the confusion I personally took one of the bookings and another member of staff took the other. We were as you say very busy, and your name for your booking hadn't been made clear , although a contact number had. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your food, except for the pigeon this is a delicate dish that could easily be overpowered with the chorizo, the fish and chips as with the pigeon are are our most popular dishes on the menu, I'm really sorry that they didn't meet to your taste, if you had made the waiting staff or my manager aware we would have extremely happy to rectify this. Again thankyou for taking the time in writing this review and I look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Jayne ledsham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Castle Inn on Friday with some friends. We arrived at 7.00 pm and it was quite. With that there was an influx and it took some time to get drinks.We were then shown to our table which was a little cramped for 4 people,however we were then asked if we would like to move to a larger table,which we did. There was quite a wait before the orders were taken and it was 1 hour 10 mins before we had food. Although the staff were pleasant I felt it was too long to wait. The food was OK but nothing exceptional. We would give it a second chance as everyone can have an off day! The decor was lovely shame the eating experience was not as excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to this fabulous pub for my husband's birthday today after staying here last year. Once again it was wonderful, the menu, the service and above all, the food. When the owner realised it was my husband's birthday she gave us a glass of Prosecco each, which was a nice touch and very much appreciated. Beautiful decor and a delightful venue. Can't wait to return, which will be very soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

On a cold wet windy day in October,what could be more warming than a delicious bowl of homemade Mushroom & Rosemary soup? Served with a hunk of fresh bread and a friendly smile. Most defiantly the best mushroom soup I have tasted. My family and I all had a superb meal and then when totally stuffed chilled out by the log wood burner, the ideal spot to chat and catch up. A couple of hours and a few drinks later fully recharged and already planning our return. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Come - and feel special and spolied!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food was freshly cooked and well presented. Interesting menu - and the food lived up to the promise. Attentive, friendly staff added to the pleasurable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.