We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel -Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stirk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stirk House Hotel to your Saves list
Stirk House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northeast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel -Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It is set well off the busy road in a conservation area and very near to lovely country walks including the Ribble Way. The staff are all amazing -so helpful and pleasant; the bedroom was enormous with a 6 foot bed and loads of hanging space and so comfortable; bathroom with shower over the bath with plenty of toiletries; and huge fluffy towels which were replaced as required. I had a wonderful view over the local countryside. The evening meal was superb, plenty of choice and beautifully served and the breakfast was a picture to behold. Fresh fruit, prunes, grapefruit, cheese, cold meat, cereals, home made bread and jam, Danish pastries, full English, steak, smoked salmon, and so on- I cannot remember the rest! A lovely final gesture was 2 home made shortbread biscuits in a packet given to me when checking out.
I cannot wait to go back and relax in this gorgeous special hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you like to look out onto the wonderful local countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    111
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
278
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked here for a family celebration, 36 of us. The staff were warm, welcoming and attentive, all the rooms were beautiful, a few had suites which were excellent. The food was outstanding, delicious and plentiful, great menu and the breakfast superb. All in all a wonderful stay which we all hope to repeat very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms great, best views from rooms 40 to 51 in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just arrived back after my 2nd visit to this hotel and must say had two very different experiences. My 1st visit was clouded by some poor behaved guests and a couple of issues but once I had informed Management this was rectified by my 2nd visit. The suite was beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food delicious, plentiful and the grounds lovely. If you wish for a relaxing stay then spoil yourself and book a suite with bed breakfast and evening meal as I did and you will have a thoroughly wonderful stay

Room Tip: Book a suite, The extra cost is 100% worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Truly amazing hotel. Everything has been carefully thought out to ensure guests have a fabulous stay. It's worth going just to view the Owls that are now resident to keep voals from nibbling at the the 5000 trees that have been recently planted. Highly recommended. Paul Allen

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Stirk for one night. We have stayed here many times and it never fails to please us. The staff are lovely, the food is lovely, and the surroundings are lovely.
We have not used the pool or gym yet as we would rather walk round the grounds which are so pleasant. Whichever room we stay in we are never disappointed. We would highly recommend Stirk House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to celebrate a birthday. Our room was spacious with a huge bathroom with walk in shower and a bath,the bed did not disappoint as it was large and comfortable.The evening meal was lovely with a wide choice for all courses and the breakfast was exceptional.A morning walk round the grounds was well worth it just to spot the deer.
Certainly well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

spent two nights here at stirk house for my sisters wedding, staff were really lovely & very helpful Rooms excellent, breakfast amazing choice of menu! The wedding venue itself was the ideal setting & all had a lovely time. I would reccomend to anyone who is looking for a short break or as a wedding venue thank you to all the staff who made it such an enjoyable stay.
Jude57

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stirk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirk House Hotel

Address: Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stirk House Experience - where 16th-century charm meets the 21st-century luxury. A 16th-century Manor House complete with 32 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant, bar, function rooms and Leisure Centre, with indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirk Hotel Gisburn
Stirk House Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stirk House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.