We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
Main Street, Gisburn BB7 4HH, England
01200 445303
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Gisburn
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A warm welcome and friendly atmosphere awaits you in this cottage style restaurant in the heart of the beautiful Ribble Valley which offers exciting and genuinely traditional Italian cuisine. To ensure the highest quality only the best local produce is used in our recipes whilst our specialist food products and wines are supplied by small dedicated producers from various regions of Italy.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This little gem reminded us of a typical Italian roadside restaurant - nothing much to look at from teh outside, but absolutely capturing what you'd expect in the Italian villages which are home to its owners. We were veyr warmly welcomed, and took the owner's advice on pre-dinner cocktails in the downstairs bar before ordering and heading upstairs to the unpretentious but warm and comfortable restaurant. Everything was typical of the genre, incredibly fresh and authentic regional dishes, right down to the home-made breadsticks. We have small appetites, so only had some olives, then a starter and main course each (no extras) which was more than we could manage. Excellent flavours, excellent service.
The bill for two (including pre-dinner drinks and four glasses of wine) was £78, which we though represented extremely good value, especially for such flavousome fresh quality. Overall, a delightful evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    56
    26
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great venue, host fantastic, great food, great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked for valentines day as recommended by many clients. Food was fantastic! Starters and main were excellent, could not fault ! Def recommend!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unusual Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Saturday £10 lunch offer attracted me to visit the restauarant whilst on a visit to the area, having noticed it earlier when driving through Gisburn. I thought that the value for money was good. Of course the choice was small at this price but some of the menu was interesting/non-standard. If I lived nearer I would certainly plan to go for dinner. As another reviewer has said, this is a more authentic Italian restaurant than some city restauarants where the food is Italian with international modifications. I will go again if I have the chance. Note that most of the tables are upstairs and so not many seats for those with mobility problems. I appreciated the home made freshly prepared gnocci and pasta - it does feel and taste different from mass produced offerings elsewhere - perhaps not to everyone's taste?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent and very authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have visited La Locanda now 3 times and have always found it excellent . The food is consistently good , the atmosphere very friendly and the hosts extremely helpful. We are planning to visit again very soon and would highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have driven past La Locanda so many times and never stopped there. After seeing a comment from someone on Twitter about how good the food was, I booked lunch there with some friends last month. £10 for a 2 course lunch, and we all loved it. The food was fresh and bursting with flavour, and the service courteous and efficient. I knew my family would enjoy it and so I returned with them today to sample the Sunday lunch, at £15 for three courses and coffee. As predicted, they loved it too. There was a choice of three dishes for each course and I think we could have eaten all of them. This is definitely going to become one of our regular haunts, I think. Special mention must go today to the limoncello cake, served with a lemony custard/creme patissiere on the side. I'm generally disappointed with Italian desserts, but not here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.